1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Opteron spec

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by 4p, 31 Jul 2006.

  1. 4p

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Jun 2006

    Posts: 8,414

    Location: Capital of The North

    The Opteron that ocuk sell looks very nice. They say its a very good overclocker too!

    Can you get mATX motherboards that have Opteron compatability? I really wanna build a pc with the case from lian-li v300 i thinks :)
     
  2. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    You'd be better off going for a Athlon 3700+ san diego as they clock just as well, have a higher multi and are very cheap atm. :)

    I believe biostar make good matx boards that clock well although ocuk dont stock them.
     
  3. 4p

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Jun 2006

    Posts: 8,414

    Location: Capital of The North

    Can anybody second this?

    Thankyou
     
  4. Its_Me

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Nov 2002

    Posts: 5,550

    Location: In a damp cave

    Yes.
    Or go for the 3800 X2 - presents a great price point/performance level and is dual core so will give that little extra future lifespan.
     
  5. 4p

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Jun 2006

    Posts: 8,414

    Location: Capital of The North

    am2..939 ?
     
  6. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    If you're building a new PC then I'd get an AM2 CPU as Socket 939 is no longer in production and it's being phased out
     
  7. 4p

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Jun 2006

    Posts: 8,414

    Location: Capital of The North

    Will do, cheers.
     
  8. Its_Me

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Nov 2002

    Posts: 5,550

    Location: In a damp cave

    Agreed.
     
  9. man_from_uncle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,350

    Well, the 144s that you were looking at (it was them I assume) do clock very well and they have all been the same stepping (CAB2E 0548). I got one 6 months ago an it hit 2.8 on air with 1.525v. I don't think the X2 3800s are doing all that well from what's been said on the relating thread.

    Having said that if you are building from the ground up I'd seriously look at a Conroe platform as they're simply.....better, at virtually every price point and they only stretch their lead when overclocked.
     
  10. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands

    my opteron clocks quite well. doubt a 3700 would clock as well. but then again im not sure on these new 3700 steppings.
     
  11. Hades

    Caporegime

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 25,723

    Location: Surrey

    I agree with most of the comments above regarding Conroe and AM2. Although a Conroe system is looking quite expensive at the moment with high proced motherboards.

    But with regards to the Opty v 3800 X2 I should point out that the Opty has 1mb cache wheras the X2 has 512kb.

    Depending on whatapplication is being run this can have absolutely no effect, or quite a bit of effect. Generally it's thought to be equivalent to an extra 100mhz to 200mhz in speed. But the Opty is restricted somewhat by the low multi.
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2006
  12. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,796

    Location: Autonomy

    If you're building a new PC then I'd get a conroe system.Simply because you can have the performance that beats an AMD FX 62 cpu for 135 quid.

    Why buy old 90nm tech?
    Why buy slower cpu's?

    If you are buying a new system conroe is the way to go.
    AMD is slow by comparison
     
    Last edited: 1 Aug 2006
  13. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    ^What he said. The conroes clock very well too, better than optys if you have the right board and reasonable ram.
     
  14. Cyber-Mav

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2005

    Posts: 15,521

    Location: Midlands


    who is using 95nm technology?
     
  15. Soul Rider

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 434

    Location: Milton Keynes

    He means 90nm AMD
     
  16. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,796

    Location: Autonomy


    Meant 90 lol and you knew it! :p
     
  17. 4p

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Jun 2006

    Posts: 8,414

    Location: Capital of The North

    Im poor, conroe is too much.