1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OPTI 144 DFI + MUSHKIN REDLINE

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by prjkitch, 10 Jan 2006.

  1. prjkitch

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7

    hi peeps this is what i have just ordered will i be able to get a good overclock on this setup as i have never o/c an athalon/opteron 64 before

    DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR SKT939
    hyper type R 580W PSU
    Mushkin redline xp4000 mem 512 x 2
    Antec Super Lanboy ATX Case With 2x120mm Fans
    AMD Opteron UP 144 1.8GHz 64bit 1Mb
    200Gb SATA300 Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 10
    Asetek 06-L-0015 VapoChill Micro Xt extreem
    LG GSA-4167SBB Silver 16x16
    Sapphire X800GTO² 256mb GDDR3 PCI-E

    even if i get a CABGE what can i expect for a reasonable O/C i Would be happy with 2.4-2.6 anything above this would be a bonus and where do i start i have had a peek at the dfi bios and it scared me i take its not just bumping up the fsb!! otherwise i have worked out to get a 3Ghz o/c i would need an fsb of 666/667 and even the muskin wont go much past 530/550 any hints would be appreciated
     
  2. K404

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Dec 2005

    Posts: 81

    Location: Glasgow U.K.

    Very similar to my rig so...good choice of components!

    The RAM will need to go on a divider (150 works well for me) to get the best of both the RAM and the CPU
     
  3. MrMatt

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Feb 2004

    Posts: 537

    Location: Manchester

    2.4-2.6 should be in reach.I know the memory is good. to get 2.6 you'd be running at 288x9. dont know if the memory can do 288fsb so like K404 said it MAY need to go on a divider depending how it clocks. The board is VERY good for overclocking though, and unless you get a very poor opteron you should be able to make the most of it.
     
  4. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    My 2x512 set of Redlines is good for 266mhz at 2-2-2-5 using 3.5v, the rated speeds are 250mhz 2-2-2-5 on 3.3v.

    On a side note, you'll be needing to use the 4v jumper on the board, which puts extra strain on the mofsets and pwm so make sure these are actively cooled along with the ram.
     
  5. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,150

    if you drop the timings a bit, you'll hit 290+ on that ram
     
  6. edger

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jan 2004

    Posts: 445

    Mines very similar to Kensels, tops around around 265 @3.5v. One thing to note, you will need active cooling. I have a fan on mine and at 260mhz I find within 2 mins of removing it I start getting memtest errors!
     
  7. Dirk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,930

    On paper everything is looking good. It might be a good idea to prepare some floppys with different BIOS revisions before you start as some will work better than others depending on your RAM etc. Also you could pop along to dfi-street.com and read up on your board and o/c results.

    Good luck and i hope you get 3000Mhz and up! :D
     
  8. K404

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Dec 2005

    Posts: 81

    Location: Glasgow U.K.

    Please can you link to evidence that CH-5 RAM clocks further with slack timings. I`ve seen no evidence of it, and i`ve also tried with my own sticks. Raw MHz wouldnt go up with slack timings, so I kept my speeds but took my timings to 1.5-2-2-0 at 264 MHz. (3.3V)

    :D

    K
     
  9. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,150

  10. prjkitch

    Associate

    Joined: 9 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7

    right i should have all my parts tommrow!!! can someone please give me some idea of how to set up the bios for the overclock as i have read several threads and all this talk of memory deviders ht multis etc is confusing me a tad i take it i should load windows and down load new drivers and bios before i start!! i also take it i need a specific bios for the winbond memory on my mushkin redline?? (bring back the ol up the fsb method :D )

    any help is greatfully recived!!!

    and yes ordered an 80mm fan for the memory and the fets (would putting extra ramsinks help cooling?? like the ones for graphic card memory the little sticky ones??)
     
    Last edited: 11 Jan 2006
  11. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Unless your thrashing everything i doubt a specific bios will make that much of a difference.

    yeah install windows and drivers. also occt/prime and superpi.

    On a side note: i didnt think you could use cas1.5?
     
  12. K404

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Dec 2005

    Posts: 81

    Location: Glasgow U.K.

    Works for me! And looks good in threads!


    Also...I`d say the slacker timings and increased RAM MHz are for non CH-5 based RAM and 2GB kits, not the high voltage stuff.

    The link doesnt work