1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Outrun Coast 2 Coast problem

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by sargatanas, 6 Jul 2006.

  1. sargatanas

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 29 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,922

    Location: fife, Scotland

    Hey guys, I am having a problem with this game, its really weird. I go in the game, i pick my options etc, pick which race i want to do and then let it load all going fine, but then when i get into game the timer starts, and when it says go, i get a high pitched noise through my speakers and the pc chrashes and reboots :confused: . Anyone know anything about this problem?
     
  2. bigbilly50

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Nov 2005

    Posts: 564

    Location: Fife

    Yes, reduce your sound card acceleration to basic - sorted it for me.
     
  3. sargatanas

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 29 Feb 2004

    Posts: 1,922

    Location: fife, Scotland

    Strange problem but ill try that just now, thanks.

    *edit* it worked, i dont get why that would make it crash, but thanks man :D.
     
    Last edited: 6 Jul 2006
  4. bigbilly50

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Nov 2005

    Posts: 564

    Location: Fife

    No probs.... dont suppose you have an Audigy 2 card ? Ive read loads of peeps with these are having the same problem. Hopefully a patch will be forthcoming..
     
  5. fraps

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,592

    Location: Essex

    I have the same problem but don't know how to reduce the sound card acceleration (no option in game I can see)?
     
  6. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,599

    Location: Hampshire

    run dxdiag
    Personally I found Outrun 2006 one of the most unstable games I've played in recent years.
     
  7. fraps

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,592

    Location: Essex

    Thanks for the quick reply!, will try that and post back (I can see the option is there)
     
  8. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,599

    Location: Hampshire

  9. fraps

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jul 2007

    Posts: 1,592

    Location: Essex

    thanks, just read - I know what you mean as i have played screamer, chaseHQ, etc in my school days...

    I paid £4.99 for a download so I can't go back but it is very simple and arcade like as compared to NFS MW for example

    I partly bought it as a kind of retro experience as I have fond memories of outrun on spectrum 128
     
  10. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,868

    Location: In a house

    START > Settings > Control Panel, then Sound and Audio Devices, Advanced option in the Speaker Settings at the bottom, then Performance tab. :)
     
  11. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    The PC version is another lazy console port :( The Xbox version runs flawlessly at an unflinching 60fps on much inferior hardware.
     
  12. HangTime

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,599

    Location: Hampshire

    ^Yeah, and as I adhered to in my linked post, it's such a lazy console port that they didn't even consider the fact that as won't be running at constant 60fps on a PC (unless vsynced at 60hz), having one 'game frame' for every 'rendered frame' is an incredibly bad idea - it's like trying to play GTA in DOS glide with the framelimiter disabled!
     
  13. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    Yeah it is just like a DOS game in that regard - if you don't use vsync, all the menus and loading screens are way too fast aren't they. The loading screen waiting time is artificial because if you disable vsync it only takes a second - how silly. I normally run my LCD monitor at 75Hz but to play this game, as you say, you need to vsync it to 60Hz.

    The graphics while good enough, are not even as good as the Xbox versions in terms of shadows and lighting - also the grass kicking up when you go off road seems feeble in this version. With the power of the PC, they could have made an arcade perfect copy, if they'd been bothered.

    I bought an original Xbox just to play OutRun 2, and if anyone else loves OutRun I recommend doing likewise - it is a very close approximation of the arcade version.
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2008