1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Overclocking 7800GT, set 2D the same as 3D or not?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Hunders, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. Hunders

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,554

    Location: Plymouth

    I plan on trying to overclock my XFX 7800GT but I noticed that the 2D and 3D core settings are different. The 2D core is 275MHz and the 3D core is 450MHz..

    Now I read somewhere that if you overclock a card and dont set the 2D core the same as the 3D core you can get some strange stuttering and such..

    Is this true or am I all good to just change the 3D settings and leave 2D as it is?

    Ta.
     
  2. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,749

    Location: London

    You wouldn't notice any strange stuttering if you overclocked the 3D higher than the 2D, according to my chum here ;)
     
  3. SpudMaster

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,850

    Location: blackburn

    the last nvidia card i had was a 6800ultra and i overclocked the 3d speed n left the 2d at stock speeds and didnt have any problems. Just try it, if you have problems set them both the same
     
  4. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 21,368

    If that was the case...Then every card sold would stutter..

    But there is a third core speed called "throttle" that may make a difference.
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2006
  5. Hunders

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,554

    Location: Plymouth

    Ok, cool.

    I overclocked my 6800GT and all the clocks were the same on that by default. I didnt think it would make a difference but I just remembered reading something on here a while back where someone mentioned it caused stuttering probs..

    I just overclocked the card by 20MHz on both the core and memory, so its running at 470/1090 at the moment with no probs.. I will leave it on that for a day and raise it by another 10 or 20MHz and test it for another day and carry on clocking in little stages like that...

    Lets hope its a good clocker.

    Cheers.
     
  6. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,015

    Location: UK PLC

    My 2D is at 275 and from what ive read (cant remember where) it doesnt need to be raised.
     
  7. rxmac

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Jun 2005

    Posts: 644

    Location: Northants

    There is no need to alter the 2d settings at all, why would you need to overclock the settings you use for everyday tasks like browsing the web, typing a letter in word etc etc unless an extra 20fps in minesweeper makes any difference. ;)