Painfully slow access times on Unraid

Associate
I've been running Unraid for about five years on an HP Microserver. It's a Gen 7 with the AMD Turion II Neo N54L Dual Core 2200Mhz and 4GB RAM. I'm using 4x 3TB WD Reds, a 6TB WD Red as a parity drive and a 120GB Samsung 840 Evo as a cache drive.

It's primarily a file server and a Plex server. Recently I've noticed that access times via Finder have been painfully slow. I previously had it connected to my router via powerline adapters, but I was only getting around 40Mbps over that connection so moved it adjacent to the router in order to connect directly via ethernet.

It's generally accessed wirelessly by mine and my wife's Macbooks. We get a very decent connection to the router so I don't think that's the issue (no problem downloading huge files such as ISOs from the internet over our fibre connection).

My wife has just complained again about her frustration with interacting with her shares. I opened the dashboard and saw that the CPU was running at 50-75%, even whilst she was just waiting for one of the directories to open - this can sometimes take a minute or so.

I'm trying to work out what the bottleneck is - an Unraid issue, Microserver hardware limitations, network issue (router/LAN/Wi-Fi) or something to do with the Macbooks (can't think what) - does anyone have any practical suggestions?

Soldato
Are you running a current stable build? Are the drives spun down/spinning up on access? What’s the Microserver actually doing IO wise?Do you have the same issue connecting using a cable and on other clients? What FS are the drives using? Is UnRAID doing a parity check? I could go on, but we really need more details to get any further.

Caporegime
Sound like weak hardware.

My unraid server is using a ryzen 3600 6 cores with 12 threads.

As well as a 1650 super for transcoding as it has nvenc capability.

Without the 1650 super it would use 90-100% of cpu to transcode.

I also have 16gb of ram.