1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parted magic + black screen

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by BenJ, 17 Oct 2014.

  1. BenJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Aug 2006

    Posts: 710

    Location: Warrington

    I've put the ISO on a usb, I boot from it and it loads a screen with some options on a GNU Grub screen.

    I've tried a few of them and they just seem to result in a black/blank screen

    Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Nov 2011

    Posts: 1,436

    Location: Wales

    Works fine for me off a CD
     
  3. OhEsEcks

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 24 Mar 2012

    Posts: 7,052

    Location: Ulster

    What are you using to create the bootable USB? My copy is burnt to CD, since it loads everything into RAM anyway.
     
  4. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,066

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    use rufus to create bootable usb stick,should work fine
     
  5. BenJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Aug 2006

    Posts: 710

    Location: Warrington

    Used rufus to make the usb. I got into it using the graphical option (can't remmeber the exact wording). Told me the drive was froze.

    Tried unplugging the ssd and going into erase again, didn't recognise the drive because it wasn't plugged in at boot I'm guessing

    Plugged the ssd back in and booted again, borked my bios somehow, got an "ab" code and had to reset the cmos.

    All back up and running and now the graphical option also just gives me a black/blank screen.

    Seems very odd that I've got into parted magic a few times and now I can't at all. Is there any bios settings that could be impacting?
     
  6. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: 11 Jul 2009

    Posts: 27,066

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    You enter sleep mode from within parted magic,this unfreezes the ssd and let's you secure erase it,Idk why it keeps black screening,it doesn't for me n I'm using a gigabyte z77 board but I boot from cd disc
     
  7. BenJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Aug 2006

    Posts: 710

    Location: Warrington

    Ye I clicked the option to sleep within parted magic. It wouldn't wake back up, or it probably did but blank screened again.

    I don't have a cd I don't think to try.

    I wonder if i have a dodgy ISO, where did you guys download it?
     
  8. BenJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 10 Aug 2006

    Posts: 710

    Location: Warrington

    Ok, downloaded the parted magic ISO called "pmagic_2014_09_29", worked first time.

    How annoying, I spent a good few hours yesterday trying to get "pmagic_2013_08_01" to work. Not to mention the CMOS reset which resulted in me having to try remember all my previous bios settings for my overclock and re testing stability.

    Lesson learnt, it's a 5 min job when you have an iso that works properly :)