1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Paying for TV License

Discussion in 'GD Archive' started by blue_harvester, 1 Feb 2005.

  1. blue_harvester

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Dec 2002

    Posts: 661

    Location: Belfast

    How do you pay for your TV License? Is it better with Direct Debit or just making a one off payment?
     
  2. Wyrdo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Feb 2004

    Posts: 15,041

    Location: Darlington, UK

    I pay by direct debit, means you don't really have to worry about it then. Can't recall if you get a slight discount for paying by DD.
     
  3. Bodger Badger

    Hitman

    Joined: 1 Nov 2004

    Posts: 627

    Location: Brighton

    Pay it in one lump sum, best to get it out of the way imo.
     
  4. DiG

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Mar 2004

    Posts: 2,230

    DD, though its really really easy to forget and then panic when you sudenly have less money than you think you should
     
  5. blue_harvester

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Dec 2002

    Posts: 661

    Location: Belfast

    Yeah I was wondering about that, but I don't think you do get discount with DD, it doesn't say anything about it on their website.
     
  6. Ace Modder

    Antec Rep

    Joined: 8 Sep 2003

    Posts: 22,724

    Location: 150 yds from OcUK

    no, just pay it in 1 go. thats what i do.
     
  7. ~Divine~Wind~

    Underboss

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 16,006

    Location: Newcastle U/T

    Yeah just pay it all at once.
    Lot easier that way.

    this is assuming you have a TV plugged into the aerial ;)

    Otherwise . . .
     
  8. GWillow

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Jun 2003

    Posts: 817

    Location: Romney Marsh, Kent

    Don't have to pay mine as we have an VERY OAP (93) living in the house and the license is in their name and therefore free!
     
  9. blue_harvester

    Hitman

    Joined: 6 Dec 2002

    Posts: 661

    Location: Belfast

    I don't, I have NTL cable, so does this mean I don't have to pay?
     
  10. rossyl

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,259

    Location: London

    I pay by DD, due to renting. Means I have control, and can cancel the DD whenever I want.

    Paying in whole would then require asking for a re-imbursement.
     
  11. wonder_lander

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,529

    Location: Stone, Staffordshire

    I pay quarterly in arrears which is a pain as you have to pay about 4 months if I want to switch to monthly DD's
     
  12. Lee2k4

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,524

    Location: Leeds, UK

    DD, at least this way all I have to worry about is sufficient funds are in the account, most of my bills are payed by dd
     
  13. Harley

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 1 Sep 2003

    Posts: 2,358

    No it doesn't.


    I pay it in one go.
     
  14. Glaucus

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 76,645

    I try and pay things by lump sum all though i messed upinsurance this year :( so had 2 pay in 4 lumps. Just means less monthly bills to worry if i have enough money.
     
  15. Celestial Caravan

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Dec 2004

    Posts: 773

    I think you end up paying slightly more by DD - rather than all at once.



    I'm sure that my quarterly DD is in advance - and that I pay more per year than I would do if I paid it all at once.
     
  16. bitboy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 962

    Oops, thanks for the reminder. Moved to a new pad but haven't bought one yet. I did attempt to do it online a few weeks ago but it all went a bit breats up, will try again tomorrow.
     
  17. Swanster

    Hitman

    Joined: 20 May 2003

    Posts: 853

    Location: Nottinghamshire

    I paid it all it one go. Begining to wish I didn't, as I rarely watch tv (only have a pc+tv card at uni), and it doesn't look like there's ever going to be anyone checking lol.
     
  18. SamHandwich

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2004

    Posts: 341

    Location: Loughborough/Stafford

    I have a TV, but I only ever use it for playing on the Gamecube or watching DVDs. I don't have an aerial lead(although there is an aerial socket in my room(at uni)) and it's not tuned in.

    Would I have anything to worry about if a TV Inspector came round? Do I need to pay for a license?
     
  19. dirtydog

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 47,398

    Location: Essex

    No you don't need a licence but it would be advisable to write to the TV licensing authorities and inform them :)

    You may still get a visit but just show him the TV and he should go away happy.
     
  20. SamHandwich

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2004

    Posts: 341

    Location: Loughborough/Stafford

    Ok I will do, cheers for clearing that up for me:)