1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC to TV problem

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by meftical, 11 May 2006.

  1. meftical

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 19

    This is a bit of an odd one but here goes,

    I have put together a little media center pc and had it all working via VIVO to S-Video converter then S-Video to Scart lead on an old Goodmans TV.
    It was displaying fine and in colour without a problem but then the TV died (nothing to do with the setup) so i had to get a new TV.

    Managed to get one free of charge from a mate and ended up with a nice, free Samsung.....Only problem is i only get the windows desktop in black and white! When XP Pro is loading the logo is in colour and all appears fine but just before it boots to the "Welcome" screen its flickers and then goes black and white.

    Have tried to mess with the card settings with no joy! Anyone have any words of wisdom to hand me? Really desperate to get this little project up and running so any help would be apreciated, and figured that this is the place to start asking.

    The relevent details of the shuttle are:

    AGP Nvidia 6600GT 128mb with DVI VGA and VIVO
    (not sure on the driver version)

    Windows XP Pro SP2

    Hope you guys can help,

    -Mef-
     
  2. meftical

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 19

    Anyone?
     
  3. Amp34

    Caporegime

    Joined: 25 Jul 2005

    Posts: 28,867

    Location: Canada

    so yourr trying to project your desktop onto a tv?

    If so:

    right click on desktop> Properties> settings> Advanced> Geforce 6600GT> nView display settings> click on the tv (should be in clone mode) then click on device settings> Select TV format> Advanced> Video output format. It will probably be on auto, change it to composite and your Tv should then be in colour. If its not change it to s-video.


    Quite long but i hope you understand it and it works. :)
     
  4. meftical

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 19

    Thanks for that, Will give it a go when i get back from work today! Thanks again for the advise.

    Much apreciated!
     
  5. AsLan

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 207

    I think s-video transmits the colour signal on one wire the brightness on another. It may be that your new TV cannot pick up the s-video colour signal over the scart input your using.
    Can you try another scart socket, or a direct s-video input?
    Also check the pc/video card and tv are set to the same video format, PAL
     
  6. meftical

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 19

    The TV does initially show in colour when the XP loading screen comes up, Just flips to black and white when it hits the Welcome screen.
     
  7. AsLan

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 207

    Could your video card drivers be switching tv out format fro PAL to NTSC?
     
  8. Sir Random

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Aug 2003

    Posts: 2,636

    Location: Wicklow, Ireland

    I had a similar problem ages ago, just using the s-video cable. I had to connect the PC's audio-out to the TV's audio-in to get a colour picture. I know that sounds crazy, but without the audio link I could only get a B&W picture.
     
  9. meftical

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 19

    Will have a check later but the PC audio is connected via a Jack to the Scart, It is a preformed cable.

    Thanks a lot though guys, Its given me enough to go on and hopefully get the problem sorted.

    Cheers,

    -Mef-