1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PCI Raid Card vs. On Board Raid

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by theyhaveahero, 9 Oct 2009.

  1. theyhaveahero

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 3

    I pretty much want to attain results much like that of the OCZ Z-Drive. Ultimately, which is faster? 3 SSD in a raid array plugged onto the motherboard (Asus II Gene) or 3 SSD pluged into a Raid Card into the PCI slot.

    Its still unclear from all the reading if its possible to boot an operating system from a Raid Controller Card plugged into the PCI slot. Can anyone just put me out of my misery and tell me if this is possible? (Asus II Gene mobo in reference).

    I've still to purchase the raid card so any tips on one that would fulfil this requirement would be much appreciated!
     
  2. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,757

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Yes, you can boot from a pci/pcie raid card, it usually adds itself to the HD boot menu

    never been a problem for me
     
  3. Elric

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Jun 2004

    Posts: 786

    Location: IOM

    Yes, you can tell the bios to run the PCI-e / PCi raid card as the boot controller.
     
  4. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    Wouldn't a PCI card be limited by the bandwidth of the PCI bus though? Surely making it much slower than onboard RAID?
     
  5. theyhaveahero

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 3

    Cool, thats cleared up. Time to get a raid card, running out of storage space, need more Sata Ports... any recommendations?

    Thats the big question, which is faster? Raid Card or On Board Raid??? I still need the fastest interface to install my OS and other apps... anyone know which is fastest?
     
  6. Reality|Bites

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,215

    can you get PCI-E raid card?
     
  7. Zarf

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Jul 2007

    Posts: 2,527

    Yes, you can.

    If you're just running RAID0, the ICH10R on your Asus Rampage 2 GENE will be fine.
    Theres not much point in going for an add in card unless you're planning on using RAID5 or need a lot of bandwidth (4+ SSD's), considering the cost of a decent raid controller (>£300 new).
     
    Last edited: 9 Oct 2009