Pcie pins for Power supply and GPU my discord#4721

Associate
Hi, basically I need help with what pci cables I need to power my GPU.

My GPU is a Gigabyte windforce 5700xt which needs a 6pin and 8pin. Psu is a Corsair vengeance 650w silver

What cable do I need for the GPU (one or two separate)

And how many pins do I need for the cable that goes to my psu if it is just one cable (6 pin or 8 pin)

(Side note I’m new with this and have other questions as well, can you get one cable that has a 8pin (6+2 pin ) and one that’s just a 6 pin with the other end going to your psu or do both have to be 8pins if so do you leave 2 pins dangling?)

Can you recommend any cables that are suitable for my graphics card and psu please.

Soldato
(Side note I’m new with this and have other questions as well, can you get one cable that has a 8pin (6+2 pin ) and one that’s just a 6 pin with the other end going to your psu or do both have to be 8pins if so do you leave 2 pins dangling?).

Most Psu just have 6+2 which is fine, as you said just leave 2 dangling if you only need 6.

Soldato
You should have two of those pcie cables shown above, as the box states x4 pcie cable. So two cables with two connectors on each.

Not sure if the 5700XT needs two separate cables like you would with the Vega 56/64 cards. You can try with a single cable, and if you have any issues then switch to using both. Might not be an issue with this particular psu though. Some Seasonic units had issues.

Associate
OP
So my PC has just came but there are two 8 pin connectors that come from the psu (ones that you can’t pull off) are they for my GPU or shall I just leave them there and connect a separate pci cable for my gpu?

Don
So my PC has just came but there are two 8 pin connectors that come from the psu (ones that you can’t pull off) are they for my GPU or shall I just leave them there and connect a separate pci cable for my gpu?