1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pelts vs Meanwell! How many can it handle?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by matt100, 1 May 2006.

  1. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,637

    Location: Surrey

    Could your average run of the mill meanwell handle 3 pelts? I'm considering 1 each for the gfx cards and 1 for the cpu, cpu one would be beefy, like a 226, the gfx ones could be less lairy, say 172.

    If not can I run the gfx ones off the psu? (tagan 580w) or change to a pcp&c or the like? Any recommendations?

    They will be cooled by seperate water loops so temps aren't an issue.
     
  2. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,279

    Location: Higher Walton

    Wont make it dude, the heftiest meanwell is about 320w so the best you'd get would be a 226w for the cpu and an 80w for the gpu and that aint enough for the gpu so you'd need 2.

    Thought you'd given up on pelts anyway?
     
  3. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,637

    Location: Surrey

    w00t! its the marv!

    hey dude, well I did give up on pelts, then I gave up on the idea of a water chiller, then I bought a vapo, then I bought a mach2, then I sold the mach 2 and feeling a bit gay I fancy finding a mid ground. Pelts seem like a decent low cost option.Water on its own is a bit limp.

    Gone and got myself a pc70 now so space isn't an issue so I feel like going a bit mental. So I'd need 2 meanwells for this? Hmm.. can't run a high end psu for all of them? Say a hiper 580w or similar? Just for the pelts?

    I don't know why I fancy doing the gfx cards, I have no idea how to vmod them although I think we know someone who could ;)
     
  4. Martynt74

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 16,279

    Location: Higher Walton

    Not gonna happen dude they draw a lot of amps and i normal psu would probably spontaniously combust,

    I aint on for long so cant be bothered telling you to get your ass on msn. Plus i'm always floating about here i just dont post in the recent pointless threads.
    Though i'd be nice for you though :)

    But yeah you'dd need at least 2 meanwells, although ebay often have some beasty efforts you could use but they won't be pretty
     
  5. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,637

    Location: Surrey

    its all about the love on ocuk ;)
     
  6. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed

    Im just posting so we are all in here :) w00t.

    the powerstream psu in the MM has abeefy 12v rail. wont that run one/two of the pelts?

    Then a meanwell for the others.

    w00t can i voltmod :)

    Tom
     
  7. Mr Mister

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,670

    cant you just get a psu with 2 12v rails and then run a pelt of each, they still give decent amperage?