1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phase unit and Badaxe mobo - any way round this?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by tomos, 30 Jul 2006.

  1. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    there are caps in the way from putting the head on there e.g. pics below (soz for poor quality - camera phone.

    [​IMG]

    so these obviously get in the way of the head

    [​IMG]

    anyone used a phase unit with the bad axe? is there anyway around this prob or could i just push the head down on the caps?
     
  2. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    You need to use a thinner O-ring round the evap so it will clear the caps. Failing that you can cut away bits of the large o-ring to accomodate the caps. To get a good seal you'll want to put some neoprene round the socket too.

    I'll be insulating my 775 board next week on either Wednesday on Thursday so I'll be able to post some pics for you. :)

    Edit: Best insulation I've seen so far on 775 is by Joe Camel.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 30 Jul 2006
  3. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    cool. never got around to using this unit yet and figured if i'm ever going to use the thing it will be for the conroe when i get it.

    thanks for the info mate - got any linkies to any guides on insulating like that?

    any links for where to buy the equip needed would be appreciated also :)


    edit - another Q

    the flip side of the unit is this:

    [​IMG]

    but then i found this thing:

    [​IMG]

    i'm assuming this is the backplate but does it go above or underneath pic 1?

    this thing deffo isnt made for 775 tho.
     
    Last edited: 30 Jul 2006
  4. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    Last edited: 30 Jul 2006
  5. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    ok, now have:

    Dielectric grease,
    acrilic Conforming Spray,
    varnish
    Artic Ceramique

    now need:

    neoprene - no clue. google isnt much help for UK sources
    sealstring - found for £20
    775 mounting kit for mach 2 (this might have sealstring included tho)
     
  6. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Hi there, sorry I didn't reply earlier, I had to pop up to Edinburgh to sort some things out and I've just got back now.

    As for varnish or liquid tape, I'll be putting nail varnish on mine, only as it's cheaper and more easily available but I've heard good stuff about the liquid tape.

    Not sure where you could get some sticky neoprene. Gray Mole gave me some when I had the work done to my Mach, maybe he'd be able to sell you some.

    The evap on your unit is a chilly1 is it? If so you won't need the Mach II LGA775 kit as you'll have everything you need to mount the evap without it. :)
     
  7. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    i think its a chilly1 head but the backplate etc wont fit lga775 mobos as it is. i deffo need the mounting kit as currently i think it will only connect to s939

    i need the neoprene but maybe seal string would do the trick to sort it out?

    have everything else now
     
  8. OC_A64

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 614

    Location: Leeds

    Drill some holes in the backplate/holddown to suit LGA (might need a couple more bolts too...?)
    Regarding the caps, could try building up neoprene and trimming the donut a little to give good contact
     
  9. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    prob is, where to buy neoprene from?

    would also prefer to have a proper mounting kit as well to be honest
     
  10. 4Qman

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Dec 2005

    Posts: 914

    Location: UK

    mate i got mine from the place Gray recommended.

    Tomos also i added some pics of my install ion a 939 setup as they may help

    EDIT, Looks like the place i get the bits from are sold out also. ill email them for you as they sorted me some out on the off chance once.
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2006
  11. OC_A64

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 614

    Location: Leeds

    All the LGA kit for the Chilly head will be is the same backplate with more holes drilled in it..
     
  12. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    will install it when i get home. am an ICQ user for a decade now :)
     
  13. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    ta mate. is appreciated.

    cant get yahoo installed for some reason DEP blocks me even if i let it :(

    OC A64 - ta for the advice mate, just want to get a proper kit just in case. :)
     
  14. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,637

    Location: Surrey

    HOW long is it since you bought that :p

    slacker!
     
  15. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    yea yea yea, so i'm lazy. sue me :p

    i was plannning on swapping hardware around earlier on and using this then but when the whole conroe thing kicked off - i decided to wait for that :)

    besides, no messing around with coldbug is deffo a plus :D
     
  16. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    I've got some pictures of mine now if they're of any help. It's not the same board, but might give you some ideas.

    PCB laquer on the whole of the back and round the socket:

    http://members.aol.com/jonpaletta/hardware/insulation_small1.jpg

    Sticky neoprene on the board:

    http://members.aol.com/jonpaletta/hardware/insulation_small2.jpg

    More neoprene, not stuck down to make taking the cpu out easy:

    http://members.aol.com/jonpaletta/hardware/insulation_small3.jpg

    As well as that I put some dielectric in some awkward places and cut about a centimeter off the o-ring to accomodate for the extra height that the neoprene gives.

    After that, it's ready to go:

    http://members.aol.com/jonpaletta/hardware/insulation_small4.jpg
     
  17. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    thanks mate :)

    right now i have everything i need for this (inc neoprene - thank 4Qman)

    just need the mounting kit and seal string now and i'm ready to go.
     
  18. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    one last thing guys - anyone know the dimensions of an lga775 mouting kit? i mean a diagram of sorts to show the distance between the screw points etc?
     
  19. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Mounting holes for 775 are 72x72mm. :)

    As for the Mach II 775 kit, I wouldn't really bother getting it as it's not needed for your evap. At £60 it's a bit much if you're only going to use the backplate. I'm sure you could just make one yourself out of wood or plastic, like the chilly1 kits that come with a plastic backplate.
     
  20. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    thats what i am thinknig. i just need to buy a ruler tho :)

    i have a drill and the spare bits. i might jsut get some seal string seperatelly and screw some extra holes into what i already have