1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Phenom II x6 1055T (Retail) Benchmarks

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by homer79, 12 Apr 2010.

  1. homer79

    Associate

    Joined: 27 May 2007

    Posts: 8

  2. CAPTAINBUMFLUFF

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 930

    Location: London

    Is that faster then a i7?
     
  3. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Depends which one I think. From the discussion in the other thread on this, it seems to be clock for clock equivalent to other Phenom II's.
     
  4. CAPTAINBUMFLUFF

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 930

    Location: London

    that doesn;t make sense clock for clock when it has 2 cores more
     
  5. PermaBanned

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 16,239

    Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen

    I heard it was miles ahead of Intel's six core chips.
     
  6. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Yes it does, there's just an extra two cores.

    I want to find out how well they overclock, which will really see how they're pitched against the higher end intel offerings. If they can manage 3.8 on air that'd be nice. 4 would be awesome.
     
  7. gareth170

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jan 2007

    Posts: 14,083

    Location: .


    these are phenoms II but just with 2 extra cores
     
  8. CAPTAINBUMFLUFF

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 930

    Location: London

    Any ideas on the price of these?
     
  9. I DON'T fancy boys

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2008

    Posts: 2,966

    stock vid appears to be 1.325 from what ive seen on a couple of sites which is very good indication for overclocking. for example most 965's ship with a vid of 1.4 and my old 940 had a VID of 1.35
     
  10. PermaBanned

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 16,239

    Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen

    £150-£200 probably.
     
  11. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Sep 2009

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Dormanstown.

    LOL.
    You heard from.
    It's clock for clock the same, with a scaling loss of like 3%.
    /Facepalm.
     
  12. I DON'T fancy boys

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2008

    Posts: 2,966

    i dont understand why so many people think this will be ahead of intels 6 core offering. Its a very similar architecture to deneb on the same process, but with two extra cores bolted on. Its no different from say an e6600 and a q6600. These processors will be the same clock for clock, maybe with slightly better power management (apparently the process has been tweaked to reduce leakage), and two more cores.
     
    Last edited: 12 Apr 2010
  13. PermaBanned

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 16,239

    Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen

    I heard from the head of a certain competitor, who says they've tried both.
     
  14. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Sep 2009

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Dormanstown.

    KPKP said it's fast as far as I remember.
    And lol, as if you actually thought Thuban would be clock for clock better than i7.

    That's Bulldozer in 2011.
     
  15. Muel

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Jun 2009

    Posts: 3,028

    Location: Sheffield

    Why are there no overclocking results up yet? The internet is slow to produce.

    EDIT:

    [​IMG]

    Apparantly this is with 2 cores disabled, but still impressive!
     
    Last edited: 12 Apr 2010
  16. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Sep 2009

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Because Mr Hong Kong is an idiot.
     
  17. mmj_uk

    Caporegime

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 25,183

    They're lower clocked parts though so don't require as much voltage.
     
  18. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,347

    Location: Planet Earth

    All the Phenom II X6 benchmarks I have seen so far have been done under a 32 bit OS.
     
  19. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    my best mate was told by his cousin, who has a friend that was talking to some geezer in the pub, who claims he was chatting to another dude on MSN, this guy claims he heard from his sisters husband that these chips are faster than i7!
     
  20. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Sep 2009

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Dormanstown.

    The only 1090T CPUZ I see is 3.2GHZ with 1.175v..

    So.. I'm hoping on the 1090T's being overclockable to 4.2GHZ.