1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Phenom X4 or Phenom II X2, which one to get?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by 3do, 8 Apr 2010.

  1. 3do

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Apr 2010

    Posts: 30

    I have a Gigabyte 770-UD3 AMD motherboard which i just got the other day and i have 2 CPU's i'm looking into getting cheap from a friend to use with the board but i need advice on what one is the better to go for?

    The first CPU he has is a Phenom II X2 545 (which i was also looking at online) but he also has a Phenom X4 9550.

    Is it better to go for the dual core Phenom II X2 545 which i was probably going to get before he said he had one (it has bigger cache at 6mb, bigger frequency and is 45nm compared to 65nm) or should i go for the Phenom 9550 since it is a quad core?

    I know both CPU's will work in the board i just got as i check the gigabyte website and i will be doing a fair bit of gaming once i switch my GPU for something newer.

    Cheers.
     
  2. chipps101

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,899

    Location: Dundee

    if its mainly for gaming i would go for the x2 545 as unless the game is well optimized for quad core cpu's the 545 will be a fair bit faster with the cache and 800 mhz clock speed advantage it has.
     
  3. CAT-THE-FIFTH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2009

    Posts: 21,397

    Location: Planet Earth

  4. chipps101

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,899

    Location: Dundee

    i'm using the same motherboard as you are and i managed to unlock the 550 be i have in it with no problems on stock voltages so you may be lucky and it will unlock.
     
  5. 3do

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Apr 2010

    Posts: 30

    Cheers for the reply's looks like the 545 is the one to for.

    It also seems like i can unlock CPU's with my board as its the Rev 2.0 with sb710 or whatever its called but not sure about the CPU and whether than can be unlocked as i have no idea about which CPU's can and cannot be unlocked so will check that out.
     
  6. thingemajib

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,466

    Location: Behind you

    all phenom II x2s and x3s can be unlocked (assuming the extra cores are stable)
     
  7. Quixote

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 1,248

  8. laffs83

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Oct 2009

    Posts: 150

    Location: Leeds,UK


    I have tried mine and it wont boot, restarts saying 'unleashing failed', however i have not tinkered with the voltages on CPU or NB much as I didn't know if it would make a difference. Do you have any ideas on things to try to get it unlocked?
     
  9. thingemajib

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,466

    Location: Behind you

    the basics are, ACC>auto, unleashing (for gigabyte)>on, CnQ>Off, C1E>off, and a small bump in vcore.

    with my board i need to lower the HT link down to 8x, but i think that a bios bug of some description.

    if it still throws up errors/wont boot, then it seems you have a duff chip :/
     
  10. drunkenmaster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,194

    Yes, more voltage is safe to use(within reason) and several people have to bump voltages a bit to get stable use of the other cores.

    The 545 is definately the one to go to, on newer mobo's, and newer chips FSB can go more than high enough to get max speed out of the chip without needing to up the multiplier, better chip, should hit a very decent speed overclocked, and if it unlocks turns into a pure bargain.

    Loving my 555BE(couldn't find a new 545 in stock cheap enough to be worth it), unlocked easily and does 4Ghz stable with little extra voltage and staying under 55C full load, awesome chip/value.
     
  11. amateur viking

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Mar 2010

    Posts: 54

    Location: Keele, Staffs

    What kind of cooler are you using Drunkenmaster? I just ordered one of the 555s for my first from-scratch build, just waiting for the go ahead to pick it up from the shop (quite excited!)

    @the OP I also thing the 545 is the better choice here too (for what little it's worth :) )
     
  12. Emlyn_Dewar

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Oct 2003

    Posts: 12,875

    Location: Chengdu

    Agreed with the general opinion here. Even if it doesn't unlock, with a clock speed bump the X2 would still see you better in most games. :)

    I'd usually always be one to back the first release of Phenom chips, but with a chance of unlocking and the far better power useage/TDP, the X2 is the wisest choice.
     
  13. laffs83

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Oct 2009

    Posts: 150

    Location: Leeds,UK

    Ive tried every conceivable variation of settings and mine is stuck at x2. This was the 3rd and last time I will try to unlock this chip now ;-(
     
  14. 3do

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Apr 2010

    Posts: 30

    Will be going for an X2 because from the outset i had planned on only Overclocking it due to not realizing all X2/X3's could be unlocked.

    Therefore if i unlock it but can't get it stable then that's fine as the chip will get used like i originally planned but if i do unlock it and it turns out to be stable i will have something extra that i wouldn't have though about/realized right away.

    Cheers for the replys.
     
  15. Arcimbaldo

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Oct 2009

    Posts: 502

    Location: Newport, Shropshire

    ^^ 550 anyday, from what ive heard about the old phenom series they arent tooo good :D
     
  16. Emlyn_Dewar

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Oct 2003

    Posts: 12,875

    Location: Chengdu

    To say that they all unlock is wrong, some of them don't have extra cores to enable. :)
     
  17. 3do

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Apr 2010

    Posts: 30

    Well i finally got a Phenom II X2 545 and successfully managed to get it unlocked into a X4 B45.

    I have so far ran prime95 for 6 hours without any BSOD or crashing so once i know its fully stable i will look into a new cooler for overclocking it.
     
  18. gt_junkie

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 8,090

    Location: The Lakes

    Good work!

    Extra performance for free is always nice!!! :D

    gt
     
  19. 3do

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Apr 2010

    Posts: 30

    I had to use the EC setting (set to hybrid) that was added with the new bios update in order to get my cpu unlocked as the standard ACC setting on the old bios wouldn't do anything despite enabling them.

    Now very happy to see Phenom II X4 displayed in windows and CPU-Z plus also happy to see it run stable in prime95. Once i get a new GPU and extra memory i'll hopefully have a decent system in which to do some gaming on without having to use really low settings.