1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer DVR-110D... takes too long to burn!?

Discussion in 'Optical Storage & Writing' started by Rosco83, 29 Jan 2006.

  1. Rosco83

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7

    Hi there,

    I recently purchased and installed the above writer on my machine.

    My first attempt at burning was a 1.4Gb .avi using Nero 6. The media used was Maxell 8x DVD-R's...

    This took over 2hrs to burn one DVD - surely this aint right!? :(

    On my next attempt i copied 3x .avi files which took up around 4Gb...

    This attempt took around 4hrs to burn!! :eek:

    Not to sure what's going wrong. Can someone help me out with a list of setting/properties which i can follow please?

    Any help is MUCH appreciated!!

    Cheers,
    Rosco
     
  2. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Device Manager > IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers > Double click each "... ... channel" in turn (ie: Primary IDE, Secondary IDE) > Advanced Settings

    Tell me what each current transfer mode is in there.

    If any of them do not have DMA if available selected, enable it.
     
  3. Andre

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Feb 2003

    Posts: 2,639

    Location: Deep dark hole

    Are you just burning the .avi as avi's or are you converting them to DVD format?

    If the latter, then I see nothing wrong with this figure (depending on the spec of your machine)

    If the former, then as basmic suggests, check your device settings
     
  4. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,463

    Location: London

    The reason its taking so long is because its transcoding them to mpeg 2 dvd format. Next time tell it to burn a dvd rom ;)
     
  5. Rosco83

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7

    My Secondary IDE has now been set to 'DMA if available'. It was originally 'PIO Only'.

    The Primary IDE was set at 'DMA if available', as before the alternative is 'PIO Only'.

    Tried burning about 3.6Gb DVD there... 4hrs estimated time!!

    I'm trying to burn .avi's so that they can be viewed on a normal dvd player.
     
  6. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Then you are transcoding them in which case it all depends on your CPU and RAM. Switching from PIO is good anyway, so we have averted one problem with your setup at least.
     
  7. Rosco83

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7

    CPU: lntel Pentium 4 1.60GHz
    RAM: 1 Gb

    Does this correspond with the writing speeds?
     
  8. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    It's not the writing speed, the writing would only take a max of 10 minutes, your CPU is creating an image first and this is what is reflected in the estimated speed but yes, that CPU and RAM does correspond.
     
  9. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,463

    Location: London

    The only was to get a faster burn is to get a faster cpu, I personally wouldnt use nero to transcode (I assume thats what your using) because the quality is poor.
     
  10. Rosco83

    Associate

    Joined: 13 Jan 2006

    Posts: 7

    Yeah, i've got Nero 6 at the moment. Any recommendations on what i should be using?

    By the way, cheers for all the helps so far. Appreciated!