1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Plane Spotters / Flight Radar Thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by leaskovski, 11 Nov 2015.

  1. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,870

    Speaking of which I have some left over bits but I can't decide if they are allowed in the MM or not.

    Will probably just hang on to it than try and sell on eBay these days. Probably come in handy at some point anyway.
     
  2. Snaggle

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,320

    Location: Northants

    Im a ham so coax is not an issue :p and i guess i could make an antenna .. I have a PI but i think its first gen . Will see if i can rustle up the other bits cheap
     
  3. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,340

    Location: West Lothian

  4. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 231,354

    Location: In the radio shack

    OK, you can't post that without talking us through what you've got there :)

    Three receivers, output from one LNA split into two, is that doing AIS as well? I'm intrigued.
     
  5. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,340

    Location: West Lothian

    Nothing exciting, lol. The setup on the right is Airband. One dongle running RTL_AIRBAND with a permanent feed of Edinburgh Radar and Tower. The other dongle is running RTL_TCP for general Airband scanning.

    Tbh, I've only got one of the dongles running at the moment as I couldn't get the splitter setup working. A job for another day.
     
  6. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,870

    Was it the antenna splitter or the two radios in one pi that caused the issue?

    I've got one pi doing ADSB and one pi as an air band Reciever with rtlsdr3 and diamond d777.

    I have a spare rtlsdr laying around and was wondering if I could put it in to the same pi and recieve two frequencies simultaneously but not sure if there would be issues with the two usb devices.

    I'm using spyserver from airspy to stream over the network and SDR# as the client on windows machines. Not found an android client yet.

    I've also got one doing AIS but despite being on a hill with visual site of the Dee and Mersey estuaries I don't really get anything. I may call it quits on that, sell the antenna and reclaim the equipment for another project.
     
  7. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,340

    Location: West Lothian

    Think it was more an issue with Bias-T powering the Amp. I've not looked in to it at all tbh, Just connected the dongle straight to the coax to get the airband up and running. I'll investigate over the next few days. I need to drill holes in the cases of both amps so that I can see the Power LED too.
     
  8. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,774

    Location: Lincolnshire

    @neodude that's a nice setup :cool:

    @Feek I should be back up and running now if you could confirm?
     
  9. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 231,354

    Location: In the radio shack

    Yup, all connected now. Thank you :)
     
  10. no idea what

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Oct 2009

    Posts: 10,774

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Good news :D Found a fork of the docker images I was using. Just need to get my virtual radar working again now.
     
  11. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,340

    Location: West Lothian

    Anybody got a reliable source for an updated replacement for the Dump1090 database? It's very out of date. So far I've just been manually adding anything that I notice is missing but it's becoming a chore.
     
  12. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 231,354

    Location: In the radio shack

    I have something in the back of my mind that says the Planefinder client keeps the database updated.

    I’ve never updated it manually.
     
  13. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,340

    Location: West Lothian

    Yeah, think that works on TAR1090 but not Dump1090.
     
  14. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 231,354

    Location: In the radio shack

    Well tar1090 is an different web interface to dump1090.
     
  15. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,340

    Location: West Lothian

    Yeah, but it uses a separate DB.
     
  16. neodude

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 3,340

    Location: West Lothian

    New setup is working a treat, amazing the difference moving the antenna on to the roof makes. Had a peak max range yesterday of 324nm and should be top of the table for EGPH FR24 feeders once my downtime drops out after 30 days.

    Turns out the issue with my splitter was the splitter itself, totally gubbed and something rattling about inside it. :(
     
  17. Stu999

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Aug 2015

    Posts: 1,750

    There’s a Spitfire flyby of a lot of hospitals today. I’m right next to one of those on the route :D
     
  18. DustyMiller

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,822

    Location: Swindon

    @Feek - whats happened to your website i've noticed it been down for a few days.
     
  19. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 231,354

    Location: In the radio shack

    It's still there, drop me a Trust and I'll send you a link - I've got fed up of people just pinching the json file so I've made some changes.
     
  20. Uhtred

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,924

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Can anyone recommened a decent dump1090 amd x64 docker images? I'm going to give this one a try - https://github.com/jeanralphaviles/dump1090-docker but if there are better ones out there please let me know.

    Long term plan is to get a raspberry pi into the loft which should have a great view. I'm near shuttleworth in Bedfordshire, I hope to get some classic planes assuming they fit transponders to those things?