1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Playing Blu-ray from your hard drive

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor and Single Board Computers' started by Phunky Phish, 18 Feb 2010.

  1. Phunky Phish

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jul 2006

    Posts: 845

    Location: St. Neots

    Right
    I use DVDFab to back up my DVD colection to my hard drives and use media browser to play them with no problems.

    I can backup my blu-ray discs using this to my hard drive but I cannot seem to play them.

    Anyone give me any advice on what I am doing wrong? I would like to keep the 1080p and 5.1 sound.

    Oh, I am using 7MC.

    Cheers for any advice or recommendations.

    Phunky
     
  2. Bradley8988

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2008

    Posts: 2,180

    Location: Sunny Wales.

    I use Media player classic for all my HD stuff. Plays back all i want with 5.1 to my surround sound.
     
  3. OpenToSuggestions

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Aug 2006

    Posts: 11,014

    Location: Derbyshire

    I use VLC for 720p and 1080p rips.

    No idea about 5.1, as I still use my old hifi for sound (2.1) so I never really looked into 5.1.
     
  4. deus3x

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Nov 2009

    Posts: 857

    Location: UK

    I have backed up a few Blu Rays.

    I used blu ray ripper and use VLC player to play them. When it backs them up I have to right click the folder i want to play and open in VLC for it to work correct with menu etc.

    Keeps 5.1 etc and is EXACT copy of the disk :) Just uses around 40GB on some disks..
     
  5. Bradley8988

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Jan 2008

    Posts: 2,180

    Location: Sunny Wales.

    I used to use VLC but it had real trouble playing back 5.1 DTS so i switched to Media player classic.
     
  6. Phunky Phish

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jul 2006

    Posts: 845

    Location: St. Neots

    deus3x
    Do you know if you can plug VLC into 7MC?
    I use mediabrowser to look at the cover art and then it just launches the DVD's from within 7MC.
    Do you know if VLC would run the same way, just for the blu-ray stuff?
     
  7. wakayoda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,112

    Why don't you just save the HDD space and play the BR from the discs?
     
  8. Phunky Phish

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jul 2006

    Posts: 845

    Location: St. Neots

    Because I like the movies on the PC as a media centre that I can share around the house.
     
  9. hsia12210

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Feb 2010

    Posts: 1

    Watching Blu-ray movies has become a popular trend nowadays. Besides directly inserting them to optical drive for playing, many people have the need of copying these movies on HDD of their PC for local playback, so that they can enjoy these movies while traveling without bringing lots of crispy Blu-ray discs.

    I will show you a guide, hopes hlep!:cool:

    1: Download, install and launch a Blu-ray Ripper(I use Pavtube, works fine)
    2: Click "DVD Rom", "DVD Folder" or "IFO/ISO" to load Blu-ray files
    3:select output format and set save path
    Click the pull down list of "Format" to select your wanted output format, there are a wide range of options, here I choose "MPEG-TS HD Video (*.ts) as an example.
    4:Set advanced settings
    Click "Settings" button, then you will be able to adjust audio and video parameters in the following interface, including codec, aspect ratio, bit rate, frame rate, sample rate, and audio channel.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: 20 Feb 2010
  10. Phunky Phish

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jul 2006

    Posts: 845

    Location: St. Neots

    Cheers hsia but that did not work!
    I tried to open a folder which I had ripped the blu-ray to using DVDFab and it reported 'Cant detect format'.
    So I inserted the disc and opened that and it reported the same!
    Also, the View Log window that opens reporting this has no close button so I have to close it using Task Manager
    :(

    PS.
    Welcome to the forums
     
    Last edited: 20 Feb 2010
  11. wakayoda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,112

    If 2 people on the network watched one BR would you get smooth playback ?
     
  12. Phunky Phish

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jul 2006

    Posts: 845

    Location: St. Neots

    Yes as my network is hard wired.
    Maybe not if it was wireless.
     
  13. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 4,952

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    just got hold of vlc ....how do i rip a blu ray disc ? using vlc it wont read it or play it :( any help
     
  14. Phunky Phish

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jul 2006

    Posts: 845

    Location: St. Neots

    Not used vlc to rip.
    To play blu-ray I purchased PowerDVD 9 Ultra as 7mc does not come with the codecs.
     
  15. hawker1986

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Mar 2009

    Posts: 1,621

    Location: Leicester

    Download the sharks codec pack, runs every media file ive ever thrown at it, intergrates into media browser fine and its v lightweight, no probs with 5.1 sound either:

    http://shark007.net/

    Personally im using arcsoft total media theatre 3, as it intergrates into media centre, unlike PowerDVD.

    I dont know anything about ripping BRs though, hope that helps somewhat.

    Hawker
     
  16. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 4,952

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    i have the se version of power dvd that came with my sony bd rom drive.. playing discs is not a problem .. just want to rip to hard drive so i can play in another pc
     
  17. Baboonanza

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Nov 2009

    Posts: 1,099

    Location: London

    Try DVDFab 6. There's a trial version available. This allows you to just rip the main movie m2ts file from the disk to your HD. MPC-HC (Media Player Classic Home Theatre) will then play these files no problems and you should be able to set-up codecs to do it for any other player too.

    I'm a bit ####ed off at the state of Blu-Ray support. I've got PowerDVD oem (from OCuk) which refuses to play any of the Blu-Rays I've tried it with, so the only way I can watch them is to rip them first. Since the choice is to pay 40+ quid for a software player that doesn't even integrate into my HTPC software or pay the same for a ripper which actually allows me to use the content how I want I know which I'll be choosing.
     
  18. Phunky Phish

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jul 2006

    Posts: 845

    Location: St. Neots

    Right, using Total Media Theatre 3 I can play the blu-ray rips from my HDD ripped by DVDFab.
    Only annoying thing is I bought PowerDVD for £60, and now need to buy TMT3 at £77 to do what I want!
    I will try MPC-HT and see if that will play the rips if its free!
    Also might try MakeMKV as I could rip them for free, and then FFDshow for playback as again its free.
    But I am lazy so might just fork out the £77 and be done with it!!