Please advise which Nikon DSLR for £400

Associate
Hi Chaps,
I wondered if you would be so kind as to advise which Nikon DSLR you would buy if you had £400 or so to throw at it?

I have a few E-series lenses I'm keen to be able to use but not too bothered if you have suggestions which negate this.

Tremendous Thanks in advance.

Second hand is fine btw.

fanger

Associate
I'm not an expert on whatever E-series lenses are but if they are old manual ones you'll need at least a D200/D300 if you want metering. D200s go for less than £400 but they are pretty outdated in terms of sensor. It's a tough choice really as the Dx000 series are all a bit naff and the D90 is past your budget.

Dare I suggest Canon?

Associate
OP
edit: Just had a look at the old lens. It isn't Series-E it's a Nikkor AF 28-80.

It must be all of 10 years old but in excellent condition. Works with my old F-601 anyway.

Does this change my options. Hope so.

Thanks robertgilbert86 for drawing my attention to this blunder in my original post.

Caporegime
You would need a D90 to AF the AF 28-80 but it should meter ok.
It will work on a D300 and D5000 but will need to be manually focussed.

The D5000 without lens would fit your budget.

You might consider selling the 28-80 and just getting one of the kit lenses which will perform well on digital.

28mm becomes 42mm on a cropped camera which is not very useful

Associate
OP
You would need a D90 to AF the AF 28-80 but it should meter ok.
It will work on a D300 and D5000 but will need to be manually focussed.

The D5000 without lens would fit your budget.

You might consider selling the 28-80 and just getting one of the kit lenses which will perform well on digital.

28mm becomes 42mm on a cropped camera which is not very useful

All good advice. Thank you.
I'm now thinking of upping my budget to accommodate the purchase of a D 90.