1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please check my specs for Gaming System

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by IntoTheVoid, 6 Mar 2006.

  1. IntoTheVoid

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Dec 2002

    Posts: 461

    Hi,

    I want a gaming system that is very quiet for around £1,500 including monitor keyboard, mouse etc. Can anyone improve or give ideas on the following:

    MY-046-GL GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS3 (GE2GB3200BDC) (MY-046-GL)
    £99.95 £99.95
    HD-018-SA Samsung SpinPoint P SP2504C 250GB SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-018-SA)
    £54.95 £54.95
    CD-038-PO Pioneer DVR-111DBK 16 x 16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter - (Black) OEM (CD-038-PO)
    £24.95 £24.95
    KB-073-LG Logitech Cordless Desktop S 510 - Black/Silver (KB-073-LG)
    £34.95 £34.95
    CP-127-AM AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4400+ (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA4400CDBOX) (CP-127-AM)
    £284.95 £284.95
    MB-129-AS Asus A8R-MVP Crossfire (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-129-AS)
    £69.95 £69.95
    GX-060-PC PowerColor ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-060-PC)
    £309.95 £309.95
    MO-003-BE Belinea 102035W 20.1" Widescreen LCD Monitor - Black/Silver (MO-003-BE)
    £279.95 £279.95
    CA-002-SS Seasonic S12 600W Silent ATX2.0 Power Supply (CA-002-SS)
    £87.95 £87.95
    CA-027-AN Antec SLK3000B Midi Tower Case - No PSU (CA-027-AN)

    Total £1,518.63 delivered incl.vat

    Thanks.
     
  2. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Looks very nice mate :)

    You may want to consider a labelflash dvd writer for about £3 more


    Other than that, I wouldn't change anything.
     
  3. IntoTheVoid

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Dec 2002

    Posts: 461

    I am still torn between going Nvidia 7800 GTX 256mb and Nforce 4 as it is cheaper, I imagine the performance in games would still be adequate?
     
  4. dread base

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 178

    Definatley go for the ATI Mobo and Card. Beats 7800GTX in all games lol. Nice system.
     
  5. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    The 7800GTX would be adequate, but nowhere near as powerful as the X1900. The X1900 series is in a league of its own at the moment. I'd stick with the above rig.
     
  6. IntoTheVoid

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Dec 2002

    Posts: 461

    Thanks for the replies, it looks like it is ATI for me this time then.
     
  7. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Welcome aboard! :cool:
     
  8. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    Well considering youre getting a 20.1" Widescreen LCD i would definitely go for the X1900XT 512MB over any 7800GTX card. Will be much faster & able to handle high res much better. Combined with the X2 Dual Core 4400+ you will have a very nice rig.
    With the Asus A8R-MVP Crossfire mobo you can later add a 2nd card if you ever need to. Nice :)
     
  9. Naffa

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 11,455

    Location: Bristol

    yep as above. a 7800GTX would be adaquate at a resolution of say 1024 or maybe 1280, but with a 20.1" screen, an X1900 is definalty worth it. running at a resolution for that screen will make use of the 512MB of video memory.
     
  10. volt9291

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 614

    Yea looks fine. Are you going to overclock? maybe some better ram?
     
  11. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    Nice system you got there (Will have )
     
  12. IntoTheVoid

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Dec 2002

    Posts: 461

    I don't intend to overclock, but will play games like Quake 4, Fear, Half-Life 2, Unreal Tournament etc as well as some driving and flight sims.

    thanks.
     
  13. Fireburst

    Associate

    Joined: 2 Feb 2006

    Posts: 64

    Doesn't the X2 4200 perform close to the X2 4400? If so you may want to save a few £ and go for the cheaper option
     
  14. helpimcrap

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jan 2004

    Posts: 12,538

    Location: Leicestershire

    4200 has half the cache. that on its own is like 100mhz difference or so.

    and i'd go for some gkill cas 2 ram as its only £30 more. :)
     
  15. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    X2 4400+ has more L2 cache which helps, especially when multitasking, 3D editing / encoding.
     
  16. maddad68

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 368

    Can i recomend you change the HD

    Maxtor MaxLine III NCQ 250GB 7V250F0 SATA-II 16MB Cache

    £73.97 Including VAT


    First of all it's only £ 9.40 extra ;)


    But for that you get a 5 year manufacturer warranty and it allso has 16MB Cache

    And in my opinion its a far better HD

    Maddad