1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help: Can someone do anything with this picture for me?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by Draeger, 19 Jun 2006.

  1. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,874

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Couple of questions fellas, hope someone can help.

    I have a Fuji A201 Digital camera. Very low spec obviously, but I use it when I go out for runs on my bike to take a few snaps now and again.

    Been working fine up until last weekend, when I went on a tour of the NW of Scotland.

    As I said, its been working fine, but every so often when I take a picture with it, it comes out like this:-

    [​IMG]

    Happens at first when you switch the camera on, then say......3 or 4 pictures later, it goes back to normal?.


    First of all, can anyone do anything as far as editing that pic to make it look "normal". I realise thats probably a lot to ask, if indeed its even possible. But I dont really know much about phot editing or what is possible with it. Maybe its a lost cause, maybe not. It would be fantastic if someone could retouch it to restore it to some semblance of normality.

    If anything is possible with it, here's a clickable thumbnail of the full sized pic that I'd like done:-

    [​IMG]

    Secondly, anyone have any idea whats wrong with the camera, going by the example above?.

    Many thanks in advance for any help. :)
     
  2. Blackvault

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 May 2004

    Posts: 3,908

    Location: Northern Ireland

    I'll have a go for you.

    Blackvault
     
  3. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,874

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Ta, much, much appreciated. :)

    If it helps, the "pink" parts are supposed to be red, as per my sig, and I have other normal pics of the two bikes in the picture. However, I'm guessing its maybe going to involve more than that, filtering or something?. As I said, not much clued up on this lark.
     
    Last edited: 19 Jun 2006
  4. Cybermyk

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 6,850

    Location: Peoples Republik of Teesside

    I had a little look but the best I could get it was a B/W image. The colours just didn't seem to be fixable. Maybe a B/W layer for clarity with a colour per layer may do it, I'm not as talented as some of the other guys/gals with this sort of thing though.
     
  5. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,874

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Thanks for trying mate, appreciate it.

    Got a link to an upload of the B/W one you tried?. Anything is better than that one I have!!!
     
  6. Joe T

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2003

    Posts: 11,746

    Location: Northampton

    I dont think it's really recoverable imo

    My best:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. JBuk

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2002

    Posts: 11,062

    Location: Cumbria

    most of the image is blown out, like Joe T says, its irrepairable :(
     
  8. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,874

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Thanks mate.

    Any idea as to what is going on with the camera for it to do that in the first place?.
     
  9. Joe T

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2003

    Posts: 11,746

    Location: Northampton

    Its over-exposed. I guess the camera's metering got confused.

    Im not sure why it did it this time, and also the other times you say it happens. :confused:
     
  10. Cybermyk

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 May 2005

    Posts: 6,850

    Location: Peoples Republik of Teesside

  11. rlm

    Hitman

    Joined: 13 Mar 2004

    Posts: 973

    Location: Peterborough

    This might be me being stupid, but could it be that your finger is over the metering sensor at the times that this happens
     
  12. ChroniC

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,371

    I had a go, but its a mess. Interested to know how you got some colour back Joe. Did you replace it all? Couldnt adjust it as a whole!
     
  13. Joe T

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2003

    Posts: 11,746

    Location: Northampton

    Cant remember, I just kept playing with the sliders:

    - colour balance
    - brightness
    - lightness
    - saturation
    - contrast
    - levels

    until it looked as good as i could make it!
     
  14. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,427

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    [​IMG]

    am i heading the right way with this?
     
  15. Draeger

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Feb 2004

    Posts: 12,874

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland


    Well, it was the wife that took the picture, so that could well be the case!!!
     
  16. Joe T

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2003

    Posts: 11,746

    Location: Northampton

    James, that's so much better than mine!
     
  17. xolotl

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 2,141

    If you asked me I would say the sky and the ground are textures added in. It just doesn't look right at all.

    I just don't think the photo is recoverable, too much lost detail. As a general rule underexposures are easier to correct than over exposures.
     
  18. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,427

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    of course they have. you cant do anything but that IMO, beucase there just isnt enough detail in the pic

    i figured you cant make it look like a proper photo, at least i cant. so why not go for something a little sureal? un natural colours, textures ect? its better than anything you can do with just adjusting the colours.
     
    Last edited: 20 Jun 2006
  19. Joe T

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Apr 2003

    Posts: 11,746

    Location: Northampton

    I aint no good at adding stuff in - dont really know how to tbh.
     
  20. Mohain

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,094

    You could tell every one it's one of your 'high key' series ;)