1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help me choose conroe mobo (single graphics card)

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by TheOracle, 14 Aug 2006.

  1. TheOracle

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2005

    Posts: 13,302

    I have been looking for days now and narrowed my search down to three

    Asus PW5
    Gigabyte DS4
    Gigabyte DQ6

    I won't be going crossfire as I can't afford another card, and I'll probably sell my x1900 and get the new one next year.

    I liked the wifi on the asus as my router is downstairs but heard the 965 is a newer chipset

    I also read on extremesforums that the 975 was better

    ARGH!

    Can someone please tell me which one to buy lol

    Thanks!
     
  2. Gatsby

    Hitman

    Joined: 28 Nov 2004

    Posts: 951

    If you want wifi and the 965 chipset then you should also consider the Asus P5B Deluxe.

    Not sure about which is better for overclocking, the 975 certainly was slightly better but with recent bios upgrades the 965 might be catching up. Asus have just released a new bios for the P5B which has raised the max FSB to 650.
     
  3. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,806

    Location: Autonomy

    P5W DH is a good mobo clocks nicely and has a fantastic feature set.

    The 6300 and 6400 overclock better on the 965 chipset.

    The E6600's overclock better on the 975X chipset.
     
  4. Fatfish

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Aug 2006

    Posts: 104

    The newest chipset for the Conroe is the 975X, preceeded by the 965. There are also mobos that use the 945P chipset for Conroe.

    Asrock ConroeXfire-eSATA2 is very cheap and provides excellent performance comparisons. Perhaps a tiny bit slower than the Asus PW5, but also half the price. Can also be remedied to a degree by overclocking.

    Another good option is the Gigabyte DS3. There's a thread on the forum about it somewhere. Offers very good overclocking capabilities up to 500Mhz FSB in extremem cases. Howeve, for standard overclocking, it also proves to be very reliable by all accounts. Again, a good performer for the price.
     
  5. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,806

    Location: Autonomy


    The ConroeXfire-eSATA2 is not a good clocker and the conore needs to be overclocked.
     
  6. Fatfish

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Aug 2006

    Posts: 104

    The two reviews I've read (since this one was recommended to me) say otherwise - but I'll bow to your argument as you have been around these forums a bit longer than I have.

    Actually, from memory, the reviews said it was good providing you didn't want to breach the 333Mhz FSB barrier as it's locked above that setting. There are however pencil/solder mods if you really wanted to increase it past that. So not particularly friendly for hardcore/extreme OC'ers and enthusiasts, but easily enough for most users looking to safely squeeze an extra bit of juice out of it. So, :p


    :D ;)
     
  7. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,806

    Location: Autonomy


    Even if the 333FSB could be reached,And have yet to see this with 300 FSB being the max.

    That would give a small overclock.

    on a 6300 7 x 333 is 2.3 ghz

    Considering that most 6300 can do 3.2ghz with ease the mobo is limited if wanting to overclock.
     
  8. Fatfish

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Aug 2006

    Posts: 104

    Fair enough. I stand corrected. I can only comment on what I've read. Thanks for clearing it up. :)