1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poor clocker?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Mik3, 25 Mar 2006.

  1. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda

    I got a AMD dual core 3800 from OCUK last month - stepping CCBWF 0601XPMW I think I might have wrote that down wrong though as Google doesnt return any results for that. Anyhoo I tried clocking it this morning, I put it straight up too 215FSB default volts, it booted fine and passed 10 minutes prime, so I tried 220 it failed prime in the first minute, so I upped volts to 1.4 and again it failed in the first minute. I've tried it all the way up to 1.6 volt but it still fails, it wont go passed 215 :confused: It runs 2 instances of prime for over an hour fine, but any higher and it fails instantly.

    Any ideas whats going on here?

    Abit AT8
    1 GIG Geil PC3200 Ultra-X
    Artic cooler 64
    Temp 28oC, load 36oC
     
  2. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    Hmm

    I dont even use prime tbh.. i use very demanding games to test stability..

    Has your pc crashed yet ?

    Someone will come along soon, and tell you every reason why prime FAILS though lol :)
     
  3. Xez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 24 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,024

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Sounds like your ram may need the volts upping or try looser timmings or run a divider. If your cpu volts arent helping then it has to be ram or the HTT ;)
     
  4. Mul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,842

    have you dropped the HTT multi down to 4x or 3x?

    Mul
     
  5. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda

    The RAM is set at 200mhz, so thats not a problem :)

    I am not sure what that is, can you explain?

    I've had a look through the Bios and I cant find anything regarding HTT multi :confused:
     
    Last edited: 25 Mar 2006
  6. TaKeN

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Aug 2005

    Posts: 13,155

    Location: Shropshire

    Hyper Transport something..

    Basically it needs to be kept under 1000.. otherwise the computer will be unstable..

    It might be in the BIOS as the LDT
     
  7. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda


    Cheers mate, I'll have a poke around now.
     
  8. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda

    Right, I just set LDT to 1000 and now I am getting BSODs, should I try 800? and will that affect performance?
     
  9. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed

    if the ram is set at "200" in the bios that means it will scale with your cpu. ie you ram is running 1:1 with the HTT. hence why its strugglin at 220.
    try setting it to "166"

    Tom
     
  10. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda


    The RAM has a seperate clock gen on this motherboard.
     
  11. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed


    The one and only motherboard that does then?
     
  12. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda

    Indeed I was wrong ;) I set the RAM to 166 and its overclocking nicely now. Thanks mate :) But how do I know what speed my RAM is running at now?
     
  13. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed

    cpuz will tell you :)

    or download

    A64MemFreq 1.1

    thats a nifty program which will calculate mem speeds and cpu speeds etc. google it

    Tom
     
  14. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda


    Cheers Welshtom you have been a great help :) Test 5 Prime now stable at 2.5G :)

    Cant go any higher with FSB as memory craps out :(

    I'll rise multi and see how much she does :D
     
    Last edited: 25 Mar 2006
  15. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda

    Whoa I am up to 2.7G now @ 1.5V! but temp is 62oC with both cores loaded, seems stable though.
     
  16. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed

    62 degrees is a little high!

    keep lowering the divider (which im guessing you are doing) when the ram tops out. thats where the program comes in handy.

    Do you have a good contact with the heatsink and the cpu. 62 seems a bit high for that cooler.


    Tom
     
  17. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda

    Welshtom it seems fine though. I am running two instances of prime now - 20 mins and its stable :)

    RAM is at 205 2,3,3,8

    Well chuffed with the CPU :)
     
  18. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 17 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed

    looking good mate :) glad to help.
     
  19. Mik3

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,986

    Location: Andromeda

    Need some better RAM :D is this stuff any good? - OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) PC4000 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series EL-DDR CAS3 (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K) (MY-060-OC) What would you chaps recommended? Under £250 for 2GIG

    Edit: Wow these chips are awesome - she just booted in windows at 2.9G, but odviously failed prime as after a few seconds, with some more volts and water cooling she would easy run @ 2.9G.
     
    Last edited: 25 Mar 2006
  20. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    The HyperTransport can be set to 1000MHz, 800MHz, 600MHz, 400MHz or 200MHz in the BIOS. This corresponds to an HT multiplier of 5x, 4x, 3x, 2x or 1x respectively and it is calculated by the HTT*HT Multiplier

    As you don't want the HT speed to go over 1GHz, the 1GHz setting is only suitable for the stock HTT speed of 200MHz. Set it to 800MHz for up to 250MHz HTT, 600MHz to 333MHz HTT, etc