1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible PSU Failure?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by slipd, 6 Mar 2006.

  1. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,391

    Location: Hampshire

    Hey guys,

    In the past week or so my PC has been misbehaving quite a bit :(

    It’s been restarting pretty much when it feels like it? Once or twice every few days or so?

    I’ve narrowed it down to my (New at Xmas) PSU, it’s the only thing it can be right? The other thing I thought it might be was my RAM, but I ran memtest+ the other night for 12 hours and it was fine, no errors?

    So, back to my PSU? Here’s my latest readings, and by watching them it would seem that the +5v is very erratic – it frequently drops below 2.12v in just seconds?

    [​IMG]

    Is that the cause of my problem? Nothing else has changed in my system, see spec bellow.

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  2. quadboi

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Feb 2006

    Posts: 1,606

    Yes, I think its a new PSU... Go ahead for a FSP blue storm 500w , or the Tagan 480w
     
  3. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    A dropping 5V rail can indeed cause restarts, surely you can get it replaced under warranty?
     
  4. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    You should be able to get your PSU replaced under warranty if it is indeed dropping it's rails like that. You could try checking with a multimeter if you have one to see if the voltages are being reported correctly.
     
  5. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,900

    Before doing anything I'd do what semi-pro suggested and test it with a multimeter. If you haven't got one already you can pick them up for ~£5 from various places.

    It's very easy to monitor the +5v rail as you just have to take a molex from the PSU and connect up the red and black cables to the multimeter.
     
  6. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,391

    Location: Hampshire

    Wow, thanks for the responce guys :D

    I've got a multimeter so I'll probably give that a try first - but looking at the 5v rail now it's, 2.85v, and that can't be right?

    I'll also have a look in the BIOS because that can display my rails too can't it?

    It’s a Enermax, so I should be okay for a RMA? Anyone had any experience with their procedures? Do I get in touch with them direct or get in contact with my supplier :rolleyes:

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  7. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    My old mobo I could not read the 5V rail and what it said was the 5V rail was actually the memory voltage, maybe that is also the case on your mobo?

    Can you check the voltages in the BIOS?
     
  8. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,900

    It's not uncommon for software readings to be a bit out, including in the BIOS. In Windows my 12v rail is something like 11.8, in bios it's 12.2 and on multimeter 12.4.

    It's up to you who you go through, I think Enermax have a direct RMA service but if you want to go with the retailer they have to sort it for you if you bought it <12months ago.
     
  9. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,391

    Location: Hampshire

    Hi guys,

    Just an update, my machines been on and fine all day? the 5v rail has been up and down the whole time though? But then I just went to play CoD and I got a restart :(

    I'm going to start an RMA off tomorrow with the supplier, it's annoying, I bought the Enermax on the strength that they never go wrong...

    It's lasted 3 months I suppose :rolleyes:

    SW.
     
  10. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,900

    Did you try it with the multimeter in the end?
     
  11. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,391

    Location: Hampshire

    I got as far as taking the side of the case off, then I realised I didn't actually know what to do :eek:

    I haven't used one of these things since high school...

    Any chance of some brief instructions Phil99?

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  12. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    The meter will have two pointy things, stick one in the molex hole that is connected to the red wire and the other at a black wire connector, yellow is 12V, black is ground, red is 5V and set the Multimeter to measure voltage.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,391

    Location: Hampshire

    Thanks for the instructions ;)

    I took two readings from the molex (750v~ and 200v~) 011 and 10.4 - does that make any sense to anyone or am I doing it wrong :(

    Cheers,

    SW.
     
  14. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    The 10.4 would mean that the 12V rail from your PSU is only giving 10.4V which is very low :confused:
     
  15. slipd

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Feb 2004

    Posts: 4,391

    Location: Hampshire

    I took that reading from the molex pins like you said? I had another restart last night so I'm concluding that the PSU is actually faulty... :(

    Thanks for your help ;)

    SW.