1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

power of a dual core?

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by thefullcollapse, 15 Jan 2006.

  1. thefullcollapse

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 625

    i was just wondering how they perform.

    would it be possible to burn a dvd (this usually makes it imposiible to do anything else at the same time) and say play a good game, or would i need to seperate cpus?
     
  2. daven1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 3,310

    using normal single core cpus you can burn a dvd and play a game but they won't both run at full speed, however using dual core cpus it pushes the dvd onto one core and the game onto another so they both run at full speed. in short dual core is good for multitasking.

    daven
     
  3. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Burning a DVD uses barely any CPU time. So even a single core CPU shouldn't struggle...
     
  4. daven1986

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 3,310

    yeah i know, but im just using it as an example because he did.
     
  5. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,315

    Location: Brighton

    No but encoding to .VOB does which is probably what he meant
     
  6. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    In fact, even that brings my system to a halt - though that might teach me for messing with priorities on multithreaded apps :D
     
  7. thefullcollapse

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 625

    thats weird i cant do anything on my comptuter while burning a dvd or encoding, when i bring up windows task manager it says my cpu is at 100%. this is an amd 3200, should this not be happening?
     
  8. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Dec 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    well encoding and burning a dvd are two very different operations

    just burning a straight dvd (actually writing the data to the dvd) shouldn't use much cpu, however producing the image beforehand most probably would

    obviously encoding anything will max out your processor as it's processing it - whether anything else will happily run along side it would depend on the priority each thread has been given by the programmers
     
  9. Solouko

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 598

    Location: North wales near Rhyl

    yeah, encoding is the killer, i have a 1900+ athlon XP (dies of embaracement) and if i try to encode a full DVD i start it on the friday, go for s dirty wekend somewhere with somone and come back monday to find it half way thru the encoding. then by the following friday it takes 3 minutes and 30 seconds to actualy burn the image -__-'

    does anyone know if nero 6 supports muitithreaded encoding so that BOTH cores encode the VOB image file at the same time? cause that would be sweet, and also unlikly under windows.

    and does having a 64-bit setup (64-bit CPU, OS and drivers) help speed up encoding?
     
  10. Dunky

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 380

    Location: Glasgow

    If it's Nero Recode you're talking about then I think it is multi-threaded (version 7 is IIRC). A 64-bit setup will only benefit if the application is compiled as a x64 binary. Otherwise it'll pass through the 32-bit application layer and work the same as an app on WinXP.
     
  11. HighlandeR

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,077

    Location: England

    I had that initial idea at 1st but dual cores good, but I have an X2-4400 and if I burn a 4.3gig DVD off and try and surf I notice the strain and performance drop.

    Opening up multiple IE windows and programs seems ok, but if burning or using cd/dvdrom will make it feel like a single core !

    Dual cores good but I wouldnt say ive noticed a hughe performance increase or benifit over a single core, but then im not encoding/pushing the system to its limits.

    I think just like all things dual cores limited to cd/hdd activity....
     
  12. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    I think that is only because of priority. If I encode using Nero Recode, then I do get slow down, but only because the priority is set to Normal or Above Normal. You can drop it to low, or even keep it at normal and after about a minutes usage, the CPU starts responding as normal again with WinXP giving you back some resources.

    TBH, I think it's mainly XP that slows things down.
     
  13. vintage-x

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 May 2004

    Posts: 1,954

    The other night I was encoding a video using windows media 9 encoder browsing several websites watching a video (different screen) downloading 6 different things on bit torrent and chatting on MSN I had no slow down what so ever. I did run out of RAM at one point though but at the moment I only have 1GB so I think having 2gb would make a difference.
     
  14. HighlandeR

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,077

    Location: England


    I get this slow down but with normal burning, burning 4.3gig of data to disc with normal priority.

    Its quite possible quiet and cool is slowing down my rigg cos its pretty much on 1ghz-1.7ghz and always adjusting like. But yeah again it feels like XP just isnt up to the job of making use of dual core.
     
  15. Solouko

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 598

    Location: North wales near Rhyl

    i'll second that, you're always going to have a bottleneck somewhere and it's useualy the HDD as they're pretty archaic... i mean, they still use moving parts! and its a HDDs instability that causes half the problems in windows anyway, and why the xbox fudges up so much.
     
  16. sja360

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2003

    Posts: 3,875

    Location: Dundee

    probably need to change some settings in device manager, goto the ide controllers right click it properties then goto advanced i think, then check they're all on a multi something instead of PIO
     
  17. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Yeah, all drives should be in DMA mode, and use no more than 2-5% of the processor during read or write operations. If windows has downgraded any hard disks, or dvd drives to PIO mode, it will use 50-100% of the cpu to push the data to and from the drive.

    Its also essential to have the motherboards chipset drivers installed correctly, to enable the highest DMA transfer speeds, and to correctly enable agp and/or PCI Express slots at maximum speed.
     
  18. elite

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,237

    Location: North East, Cleveland

    iv yet to see both my cores both working full speed. even with cod2 and bf2 open at same time. go dual core :)
     
  19. Dunky

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 May 2005

    Posts: 380

    Location: Glasgow

    What it could be is the fact that the application is multi-threaded and hence it's using *both* cores at the same time, eating up cpu time on both cores. Although this means that multi-tasking is better than a single-core and the program is working faster, that one program is putting load on both cores. WinXP does a fairly good job at proc scheduling (x64 even more so) so if you're finding it a bit sluggish then you can set the affinity to one core, in which case the other core will be free for Windows tasks and other programs etc. or as other's have suggested is to drop the priority level.
     
  20. HighlandeR

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,077

    Location: England

    I will definatly do some tweeking and playing about, it does feel like I have the power to do mutlitasking alot better.....