1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power Outages?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by White Fang, 8 Mar 2006.

  1. White Fang

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Mar 2006

    Posts: 65

    Location: Ireland

    I recently got a phonecall from my brother saying that he's messed up his computer in some way or another but the problem is that when his computer is turned on it only stays on for a certain period of time then the power just cuts out. He mentioned something about hearing a "pop" sound so i was thinking it was someting to do with the PSU and static but hes not the sorta guy that would open his computer case to let static in anyway... He says it happens every couple of days or so and he doesnt want to give it to a computer shop to repair because "they are the new car mechanics"... you know... charging for a new motherboard, gfx card and PSU when they only needed to fix the PSU or something... so any ideas?
     
  2. AFK_Matrix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,496

    Location: Crawley, WEST SUSSEX

    Well the easiest way to find out is to put another psu in there and try it out.

    I could be that the PSU is on the way out, or maybe they have problems with the power in his house? Best bet is to try and get another PSU to test with.
     
  3. GAMEfreak

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 759

    Location: Newry, Northern ireland

    wow very good command of english there m8 :rolleyes: .

    lol. yeah PSU seems dead to me, get a new one.l
     
  4. White Fang

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Mar 2006

    Posts: 65

    Location: Ireland

    You think it would be a good idea to use my own psu in his computer to test it out? He only has an extra PSU in his Pentium 2 ancient compy and he says that it doesnt seem compatible.
     
  5. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,829

    Location: Glasgow

    He missed out a "t", roll-eyes isn't really appropriate is it?

    White Fang(excellent name by the way, such a good book) yeah I think you will have to use your own PSU to test. At the moment it sounds quite like a PSU problem but if nothing else at least you could eliminate it from the possibles :)
     
  6. Datamonkey

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 6,772

    Location: Kempston - Bedfordshire


    LOL cracked me up m8 lol, comments on command of english and spells MATE as m8.


    meh


    Anyways back on topic, as suggested sounds like a psu issue, or could be something simple like the power cord into the back of the pc being lose.

    Check all the wiring from the psu to the mobo and such. and if possible swap out the psu with a spare one to test.

    hope that helps

    command of english lol cracked me up
     
  7. AFK_Matrix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2004

    Posts: 2,496

    Location: Crawley, WEST SUSSEX

    Man i never knew there was a spelling police officer here.

    I appologise humbly for my missing out of a t. I guess us ladies can't be perfect all the time :D

    Yeah looks like u'll have to try your psu out in his pc mate, or try and find a cheap one at a computer fair just to see if it is and then buy a better one from OCUK.
     
    Last edited: 8 Mar 2006
  8. Datamonkey

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 6,772

    Location: Kempston - Bedfordshire

    AFK Matrix,

    there is a fair few spelling police officials around on the forums, most of them are fine though lol and know how to spell them selves. this dude cracked me up though with his correction and then using text talk. :D
     
  9. GAMEfreak

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 759

    Location: Newry, Northern ireland

    i can't help it, humour is good, *cough* look @ sig *cough*. lol the "@" symbol this time :p.

    @ontopic, i def th1nk 1ts a PSU pr0b1em :p