1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Power supply for sli gtx 470s?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kynd, 14 May 2010.

  1. Kynd

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 May 2010

    Posts: 103

    Just wanna make sure that my corsair HX750 will cope with this ok, and an overclocked i7 920?.
     
  2. Grimley

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Nov 2007

    Posts: 7,371

    Location: Deepest Darkest Essex!!

  3. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    You can be sure that site will give you a safe overestimate (probably so they sell more expensive PSUs). I'd say that a Corsair 750W should be fine if you check the GTX 470 reviews and look at the power consumption.

    edit: on 2nd thoughts, haven't found any GTX 470 SLI load figures but one of the reviews saw 851W with furmark running on dual GTX 480s...
     
    Last edited: 14 May 2010
  4. Tikkabhuna

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 936

    Location: Suffolk/Bournemouth(Uni)

  5. Paul. W

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Dec 2009

    Posts: 522

    That Antec calculater is a load of balls lol.

    Just put in the following:

    Q660 OC at 3.6ghz @ 1.45V
    2 x GTX270 in SLI
    2 x SATA HDD
    1 x blue-ray
    2 x DDR2 sticks
    1 x 92mm fan
    2 x cathodes

    At 90% utilisation with the lowest possible aging setting....

    And it said i need AT LEAST 1192W !!!!!!
     
  6. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    Haha :p
     
  7. mcast123

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Feb 2006

    Posts: 972

    This is more accurate, it matches up with my actual consumption.

    612w
     
    Last edited: 16 May 2010
  8. Redmint

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jan 2010

    Posts: 3,190

    Location: Guildford

    Gives me Recommended PSU Wattage: 474W for my Q6600 with a HD 4890, seems about right I guess, running quite happily off my 600W PSU (as it should do).
     
  9. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

  10. Ryan-3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 8,813

    Location: Northumberland

    Mines about 450W, [i7 920, stock, 3 DDR3 sticks, 5770] but with a GTX480 (which I'd much prefer to my 5770 :)) takes my to 596. Good job ive got the HX750 then :p
     
  11. Cycrow

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,961

    Location: London

    the antec one says i need 600W for an i7 920 and GTS 250.

    and it was running perfectly fine with a HX520 :p
     
  12. hlennie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Nov 2008

    Posts: 1,143

    Location: Black country

    yeah proper miffed about what the manufactures say u need to run your equipment u end up buying a new power supply for naff all get a plug in watt meter that will tell u how much ur computer is loaded.

    can get one for about a £10 on the net better than forking out 100+ for a supply u dont even need
     
  13. Mak3R

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,231

    Location: Norn Iron

    Hmm Corsair one says i need a 650 or 750 whilst the Antec one says my load is only 389W. Spec in sig :D
     
  14. Marvin

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Nov 2009

    Posts: 3,872

    Location: Maidstone, Kent

    I just stuck in the same values and I got 755W? Are you (or I) doing something wrong?

    [​IMG]
     
  15. zombiegenesis

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2010

    Posts: 230

    Location: Winchester, UK

    I should hope a Corsair 750w would be enough to SLI 2xGTX 470s.
    I don't want to pay over £100 and not have the right power supply!
     
  16. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Thanks for the 7 month late reply.
     
  17. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,846

    Location: Kent

    Bit of thread revival!!!
     
  18. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    I can do better, wait right there.
     
  19. setter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 28,160

    Location: armoy, n. ireland

    Tis a bit of a revival, 750w should be enough for sli 470s, running two here on a corsair hx 850w.
     
  20. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,846

    Location: Kent

    Edit: just seen :p