1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

power supply ok?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Apatche64, 15 May 2006.

  1. Apatche64

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Dec 2003

    Posts: 703

    Location: alsager, near crewe

    hi guys,

    my dads upgrading and he's already got an atx power supply that is very good in his system at the moment...

    it's an Antec TRU480 or something...

    is that going to be able to cope with :

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ (Socket 939) - Retail

    Asrock 939Dual-SATA2 (Socket 939 & Upgradable to AM2) AGP & PCI-Express Motherboard

    GeIL 2GB (2x1GB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS3

    he has 2 sata drives and a dvd rewriter.

    also a radeon 9600pro agp (hense the asrock duel mobo)

    he's not bothered about gfx but does photoshop etc...

    is this the best upgrade for him for the money ...?

    he came from a xp 2500 or summat.

    any other suggestions are fine:

    cheers lads

    p.s does the power supply need a btx adapter?
     
    Last edited: 15 May 2006
  2. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    Antec PSUs are good quaility and that should be fine.

    This site will show you an estimate for the wattage you need. LINKAGE. Add ~100W to that and that's plenty.
     
  3. Apatche64

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Dec 2003

    Posts: 703

    Location: alsager, near crewe

    cheers mate .. got 322watts.:)

    so that should be fine yeah?

    am i going crazy or do i need a power convertor for btx or summat?

    also does anyone know about this mobo? any good? stable?

    also is this the best setup for the money?
     
  4. 4T5

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Aug 2004

    Posts: 27,746

    Location: Middle of England

    Running an Antec Trueblue 480w myself mate. :cool:
    Rock solid rails and good looking to boot. Should handle it easily.
     
  5. Apatche64

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Dec 2003

    Posts: 703

    Location: alsager, near crewe

    so no adapters needed etc?

    cheers mate you've been a help.

    is the chioce of mobo ok?

    only reason going for that is that it takes agp aswell...