1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pre-built wrong Components? (WONKY GPU)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Schlangers, 16 Apr 2010.

  1. Schlangers

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2009

    Posts: 116

    Hi All,

    Just wanted some advise about some issues, i recently brought a pre built pc from OCuk and expected to receive a sapphire HD5970 and a i7 930 overclocked to 4.0GHz but... I go this instead....

    Powercolor HD5970 and a the i7 not overclocked, now i would have sent it back by now if this was all that different, however i also received a Gigabyte X58A-UD5 instead of the EX58-UD5, now the X58 comes with some extra features (3.0 USB etc). Originally i had asked if i have the X58 but they said not if i wanted the overclock so at the time i said i would go with the EX58....

    Im trying to figure out what i should do... the GPU are basically the same, i don't have the cpu overclocked but i have a motherboard which is worth £40 more than the one i asked for..... what would you do if you were me?

    Now about the card...... I know that the latest cards have been getting steadily larger and therefore heavier but to me a card which is not level is not a good sign. :eek:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Insert OMFG here...... honestly i love the case but it is rather large but looks amazing and is ten times quiter than the old Antec 902.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Ryan-3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 8,821

    Location: Northumberland

    Well, if i'd spent that much on a PC, I'd would certainly want it done my way :)

    + A 'slightly' sideways GPU doesn't sound a good thing!
     
  3. geowal19

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Nov 2008

    Posts: 661

    Location: Peterborough, England

    Keep it. Like you say the card isn't gonna make any difference really and if a normal un overlocked i7 isn't good enough for you nothing will. But then did you pay extra for the overclocking and i'll think you'll find you talk to OcUk and get a bios profile and that will give you the overclock but I think that is if you lost the overclock.

    EDIT: Forgot to add the hassle of sending it back.
     
  4. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,848

    Location: Kent

  5. Schlangers

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2009

    Posts: 116

    Thanks for the replies.

    Any idea on the GPU? I was thinking of jerry rigging some sort of bracket, my last card a 295 was shorter but much heavier that was a right sod to sort out.

    Thanks for the tip RJC i had a look but did not know what i was looking for :(
     
    Last edited: 16 Apr 2010
  6. Tikkabhuna

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Mar 2010

    Posts: 936

    Location: Suffolk/Bournemouth(Uni)

    In the BIOS there's an option to select a BIOS profile, loading all the settings that its saved. You want to look for loading a saved profile. I had a little look for pictures of the UD5 bios but couldn't really find much. I'll have another look. :)

    Edit: It says in the manual if you can't find it. Best I can do at the moment, sorry.
     
    Last edited: 16 Apr 2010
  7. freddie64

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Mar 2008

    Posts: 3,198

    Are the power cables pulling the back of the card down or is it just the weight of it?
     
  8. bash247

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Aug 2009

    Posts: 787

    I would personally return it and get it fixed by OcUK or you can try to remove the card and insert it again to see if it makes a difference or not.
     
  9. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,846

    Location: Enfield

    The 5970 is a long and heavy card. It bends at the end because of the weight. Even my 5870 does.
     
  10. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,787

    Location: Wiltshire

    Yep thats normal.
     
  11. Ryan-3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 14 Sep 2009

    Posts: 8,821

    Location: Northumberland

    I suppose my 5770 wouldn't :p
     
  12. manbearpig

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2009

    Posts: 1,495

    Location: Bedfordshire

    Unfortunately not :p:mad:
     
  13. chaosquall

    Gangster

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 308

    Location: Southend-On-Sea, Essex

    5970 is massive also wtf case lol
     
  14. Amakuma

    Gangster

    Joined: 26 Jan 2010

    Posts: 291

    Provided the card sits securely in the slot, alot of recent cards bend a little because they're so heavy and unweildy
     
  15. Skillmister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Oct 2009

    Posts: 19,786

    Location: Wales

    It has a carry handle :p
     
  16. Schlangers

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2009

    Posts: 116

    Thermaltake Level 10 and slightly over the top :D. It is a full tower so i was expecting it to be big (******* huge) however it is quite quiet, but at 24kg don't expect to haul this beast around with you.
     
  17. fs123

    Mobster

    Joined: 4 Feb 2006

    Posts: 3,012

    The graphics card can bend like that if the bracket is offset slightly when the screw is tightened. You should try loosening the screw(s) and straightening it a bit.
     
  18. Mak3R

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,231

    Location: Norn Iron

    That Case wouldnt be my cup of tea but each to their own :)
     
  19. thingemajib

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,466

    Location: Behind you

    yeah, i was thinking it might be the bracket as well. try seating it in the lower pcie slot and see if it still bends.
     
  20. Schlangers

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Aug 2009

    Posts: 116

    Okay will do thanks again for the advise.