Probably a complete NOOB question about the "Titan Viper" 2.80GHz @ 4Ghz question!

Associate
Ok guys I've just recently purchased the fabulous system package: "Titan Viper" Intel Core i7 930 2.80GHz @ 4.00GHz DDR3 System from OC and it's working a treat - Thanks to OC!!!!

But the question I have is that when I boot up the machine at the DOS system check it's reporting that it is at 2.00Ghz (133x15) and when I'm in windows 'My Computer - Properties' I get the machine speed report at 2.80Ghz - 2.00Ghz as shown in the picture below:

mymachine.jpg

Now coming from a slow machine upgrade, everything is Ninja quick so not noticing whether I am at 2.80Ghz/2Ghz or actually at 4Ghz...so cannot tell whether the guys at OC have forgot to crank my machine upto 4Ghz or not....is there anyway of telling it's at 4Ghz...cos i've looked at CPUZ (CPUID) and none the wiser!!!

I know this is probably a typical NOOB question and apols for asking, but any help would be appreciated!

Cheers
ChrisC

Last edited:
Caporegime
Hi, and welcome to the forums.:) Put the system under load with a utility such as prime 95, then check with cpuz to see if the full 4ghz clockspeed shows. Windows system info wont show the overclock, if the clock doesnt show in cpuz when prime testing, you may have to load the overclockers profile in bios.

Soldato
I thought I read some place that you have to load the overclock in the BIOS on these pre-overclocked packages?

However, I cant explain the 2.8GHz and 2.0GHz part.

Associate