1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Probably an easy network question but...

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by ExRayTed, 9 Jul 2006.

  1. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,755

    Location: Surrey

    I have a 2 pc network at home connected via network crossover cable.Pc A connects directly to the internet via cable modem and Pc B connects to the internet through Pc A.Now if I have to reboot Pc A for any reason Pc B won't be abke to connect after the reboot and will have to be rebooted itself.

    I'm guessing a router would fix this problem but I'm wondering if I can fix this without spending anything.Cheers all :D
     
  2. sja360

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2003

    Posts: 3,952

    Location: Dundee

    probably just need to click right on the network connection in the system tray on pc B and then select repair. try that.
     
  3. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    You'd still lose the connection if PC A gets restarted.
     
  4. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Does PC B lose all connectivity to PC A (can you ping PC A once it has rebooted?)?? Or is just the internet connection lost?

    M
     
  5. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    router tbh. A £10 safecom will do the job.
     
  6. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,755

    Location: Surrey

    Thanks for the replies so far guys..

    Pc B does lose all connectivity,can't access shared folders from either Pc.I'll try repairing and see if that helps.
     
  7. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,450

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    See if you can ping the other PC - might help narrow down the problem.

    Accessing shared folders and the internet are higher up the stack - need to test layer 3 first, and then work downover if that doesnt work.

    M
     
  8. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,755

    Location: Surrey

    Fantastic,repairing it from within network properties does the trick :D Knew it had to be something simple.It fixes internet and shared folders.

    Thanks for the help guys :D
     
  9. toString

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,956

    Location: London

    Amazing the lengths people will go to just to save a few pounds!
     
  10. andrewbell1984

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,685


    That is so true, but every penny counts ;)
     
  11. The_KiD

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 19 Apr 2006

    Posts: 2,342

    Location: West Yorkshire


    I agree however, I also have to go to these lengths myself.

    Some just arent as fortunate as others and dont have £10 to shell on hardware.
     
  12. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    An even easier way is to goto run and type "ipconfig -renew" :).
     
  13. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,755

    Location: Surrey

    It isn't the money really :) In your opinion is a router worth the cost and setup? My two PCs are 2 feet from each other.What would be the benefits other than not having to have the host PC on to access internet on the other one?
     
  14. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,755

    Location: Surrey

    Far too technical for the likes of me..

    Can't believe I didn't know this either..
     
  15. toString

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,956

    Location: London

    I would just buy the router, and save myself the effort and troubleshooting that not using one produces... :) But that's me!
     
  16. Phemo

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 May 2004

    Posts: 5,578

    Location: Portsmouth

    More security is a nice added bonus.