1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with SLI-DR and OCZ 4X512mb

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Berno, 9 Jan 2006.

  1. Berno

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 179

    Hello to all

    First of all my Spec

    AMD A64 3500+ 939 (newcastle core i think)
    DFI NF4 SLI-DR
    Leadtek 7800GTX
    2GB OCZ platinum EL Revision2 (4 x 512 MB modules)
    Tagen TG480-U01 PSU

    Iv had this board for about 2 months and its been totally reliable very pleased. With modern games i decided to purchaes another 1GB ocz plat rev2 I updated the bios to N4D626-3 latest bios on the DFI website then istalled the RAM.
    It finally booted after switching to 2T but was very unstable. as soon as u try to run a game or start a program etc it freezes

    what bios works best with 4 memory slots used up N4D626-3 or the previous version NF4LD-310

    So far had no luck trying to cure the problem myself
    Any ideas anyone??? ;)
     
  2. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,111

    Location: England

    it's the memory controller on your newcastle that does not like running 4 sticks of ram.

    try running the ram at 166. should work then. and you shouldn't lose too much performance either. :)
     
  3. Berno

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 179

    Thanks for the help Marc

    I tried 166 and 150Mhz (2T) and still had the same problems.

    Im starting to wonder if selling the Rev2 's is a better idea and run 2x 1GB OCZ platinum in 1T, do u think ill have any problems running 2 sticks.

    At the moment i dont overclock anyway so is there any point trying to run them at reduced speed and in 2T??

    Would 2x 1GB at 1T give me better performance or keep the Ram and buy another CPU.

    thanks:)
     
  4. drunkenmaster

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 33,172

    a newer core, a venice, san diego all have uprated mem controllers(only a little but still better with 4 sticks or more memory total). try lower timings, i'm assuming that ocz is rated at 2,2,2,6 at stock timings? try to set ras to cas down to 3, so 2,2,3,6. and up voltage to 2.6 or 2.7v, bump cpu voltage by 0.025 or .05v, all very safe voltages there but might help stabilise everything a touch.
     
  5. Berno

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 179

    Well i already have the mem set to 2.7v, ill try adding a little voltage more voltage to the CPU and try 2.2.3.5 see if that helps

    The Rev 2's stock timings are 2.2.2.5, but in sis sandra it says the timings are set to 2.3.2.5 with 1GB installed how can i adjust this to original.

    thanks for the help
     
  6. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    dfi expert is the only mobo capable of 4xsticks, even at T1 stable with a mild oc!

    from what ive read, forget about trying to get 4 sticks to be stable unless you want pathetic mem speeds.

    my advice?, sell all 4 and get a 2gb kit.
     
  7. Berno

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 179

    Yep i think maybe your right. whats the best 2GB ram kitt to get for theis mobo??
     
  8. Dirk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,930

    Corsair xms3500ll 2x1GB. On special offer at OCUK! My DFI loves this RAM with the latest BIOS. You may want to o/c a bit to get the RAM up to it's rated speed of DDR436. At the moment you are probably running at DDR333 due to all four sockets being populated. (You can check that using cpu-z).

    Going 2x1GB will be a nice improvement for your rig.
     
  9. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Aug 2005

    Posts: 3,642

    Location: Ealing, London

    The New 2gig G-Skill kit looks nice as well. The Ballistix is another option although the failure rate seems very high, (mine have been fine though).