1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Problems with my 4870x2 Drivers

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by AlanJ, 4 Oct 2009.

  1. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Hi all, Ive been having major problems since watercooling my shapphire 4870x2 Graphics card. Crashes/bsod's. On the bsod giving me errors on the atikmdag.sys ... :(

    I have been doing some research into the problem. I have tried loads of different drivers, and other bits on different forums STILL no luck.

    Im at a lost end now. Please help.

    Thank You.
     
  2. paulh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jun 2008

    Posts: 1,526

    Location: Spalding

    is the block cooling the card properly? also make sure its not shorting anything?
     
  3. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Yes the blocks cooling the card great. Im hoping its not hardware realated, and just a driver issue.

    Any other suggestions chaps?
     
  4. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    **Update**

    Managed to install 9.7 driver but device manager showing VGA video controller not installed !!

    And only 1 Core running on the gfx card. Im gonna snap this bloody thing up in a minute!
     
  5. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,833

    Location: UK

    Its was working ok before you put the WC on? Which block/s is it?
     
  6. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay


    EK-FC4870 X2 - Acetal (full cover) Yes the card worked ok, but tbh I never went into device manager, because the card seemed to be ok.

    When i tried installing the vga driver pc just crashes :(
     
  7. fornowagain

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Nov 2004

    Posts: 9,833

    Location: UK

    Last edited: 7 Oct 2009
  8. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Thanks so much for that, will look into it :)
     
  9. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Tried the above fornowagain still the same :(
     
  10. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Anyone else had/having this problem? Im pulling my hair out :(
     
  11. D13

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 983

    Have you tried putting the stock cooler back on?

    Have you tried a fresh install?

    Do you cool anything else on the loop? i mean has the pump always been in there, or did you just add it to cool the card? maybe the psu struggling to cope (i know that is a long shot)

    Worth putting the cpu at stock clock as well. At least while trying to diagnose prob
     
    Last edited: 11 Oct 2009
  12. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    things i have tried

    removed ram, tried different slots.
    Format
    stock cooler back on
    re applied thermal pads, compound
    reset bios (all running at stock)
    Latest drivers, older drivers (gfx)
    Bios update.

    So many people have been having this problem (google) but i cannot find a fix for the error.


    Only other thing in the loop is my CPU
     
  13. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Anyone else still havent fixed this :(

    Cmos cleared all at stock.
     
  14. aj2703

    Associate

    Joined: 9 May 2008

    Posts: 99

    Hi.

    I was getting the same error "atikmdag.sys" I did everything to try and resolve this with no luck i'm afraid. Numerous e-mails betweem myself and ati cat guys ended with a near argument... They said it's a card problem, i reckoned it was a driver problem. Anyways i bit the bullet and got a new card 4870 and have never had the problem since. Old card was a 3870x2...
     
  15. AlanJ

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Nov 2005

    Posts: 684

    Location: Torquay

    Something I didnt want to hear :(

    Has anyone used shapphire RMA ? Thing is the card is second hand from the Members market, I've fitted a waterblock, but have the stock cooler. When removing the stock cooler one of the screws on the X-bracket rounded off!!

    Are they fussy? will the notice, and refuse to repair?