1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Processor Trouble?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by UltimateBlob, 18 Sep 2009.

  1. UltimateBlob

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jun 2008

    Posts: 14

    Intel E5200 2.5GHz
    Asus P5QPL-AM
    4GB 800MHz RAM
    350W Antec Basic PSU
    New Build

    Smyptoms:
    No VGA output
    On power-up, fans start up, go quiet and restart every time
    No bleeps from piezo-sounder
    Power light is on

    Checked all cables are plugged in correctly
    Checked CPU is connected (I think)
    Tried reseting CMOS

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
    Last edited: 18 Sep 2009
  2. PermaBanned

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 16,239

    Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen

    Power supply? Graphics Card?
     
  3. UltimateBlob

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jun 2008

    Posts: 14

    Power supply seems fine - what do I check? USB power is working.

    Using Intel onboard graphics.
     
  4. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,416

    are you saying its stuck in a loop? If so go into bios and check fan settings
     
  5. UltimateBlob

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jun 2008

    Posts: 14

    There's no VGA, I can't get into BIOS
     
  6. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,416

    good point - shouldnt skim read.
    Any jumpers on board for vga?
    Is this a new build?
     
  7. UltimateBlob

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jun 2008

    Posts: 14

    Don't seem to be any jumpers.

    Yeah it's a new build, never worked.
     
  8. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,416

    try one stick of ram at a time in each slot
     
  9. RJC

    Don

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 28,742

    Location: Kent

    Is the 4 pin cpu connector plugged in, often gets missed.
     
  10. UltimateBlob

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jun 2008

    Posts: 14

    Yeah, tried the ram and the 4-pin connector is definitely in.
     
  11. PermaBanned

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Jul 2009

    Posts: 16,239

    Location: Newcastle/Aberdeen

    No, what power supply is it?
     
  12. vanandjuanunited

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,416

    is the ram compatable? What are the ram specs?
    Is there a short with board touching the case? Try assembling outside of case?
    Not sure what else to try.
     
  13. iNPUt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,801

    Location: London

    Well I had this problem a few weeks back put some thermal paste on and go under my cpu, also had a dead stick of ram I think. Re-build the system outside the case make sure you havent overlooked something simple.
     
  14. Rollingskies

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Nov 2007

    Posts: 169

    Location: Aberdeen

  15. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2008

    Posts: 10,371

    Location: England

    If it is not user error (rebuilding on a cardboard box etc is checking that you haven't built it wrong), then the symptoms suggest DOA motherboard much more strongly than a dead processor.
     
  16. UltimateBlob

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jun 2008

    Posts: 14

    I read the manual - in BIOS the default graphics device is PCIe. Is there any way to change this without having to use a PCIe graphics card temporarily?

    Edit: I tested it with a 500W PSU, made no difference.
     
  17. JonJ678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Dec 2008

    Posts: 10,371

    Location: England

    The board will definitely output through the onboard by default if there is no graphics card connected. I think you're going to have to rma the board.

    Do so through reseller, not Asus, unless you are very patient indeed. Not beeping when there's no ram connected is a pretty bad sign.