PSU on its way out?

Associate
Hi,

I'm a fairly novice builder, but I think my PSU is knackered and I'm hoping you guys can help.

Recently I've been gaming and my screen suddenly goes off. I can still hear music/gameplay through my headphones but nothing brings my monitor back to life unless I reboot it. This is happening almost instantly now when I turn it on, so need to get it resolved.

Faulty PSU or a different issue?

TIA.

Associate
OP
Apologies.

Corsair CX550M semi modular tax PSU. Powering Ryzen 5 1600, AB250m mobo, ssd and 1070ti mini.

Cheers

I've noticed it flickers off, then the fans go mental in the case. Not sure if it is significant.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Bizarely it appears to have settled and been okay since posting this. It did it around 4/5 times before settling down. Are there any tests I can do for the GPU?

Man of Honour
You could run some stress tests to check it but nothing else really. Loop something like Heaven or Asus realbench for a couple of hours or if you really want to hammer it try OCCT's torture test but keep a close eye on your temps.

The Corsair CM550M isn't a great psu but the latest version of it is a massive improvement over the old version and now has a 5 year warranty. It should be more than enough to power your pc while still having some decent spare headroom left over.

If it's behaving itself now it could be a good move to update the latest motherboard bios and update all drivers just to rule out any compatibility issues. Ryzen boards have had a great many bios updates since release which have increased stability, compatibility and fairly often performance too.

Associate
OP
I'll give that a blast then. Are you aware of any free software that highlights drivers that need updating? I don't have a clue what version I have so don't want to upgrade the wrong thing!

Thanks

Man of Honour