Q9550 LGA775 OC motherboard?

Associate
Hi

I am new to overclocking and I want to buy a new or used motherboard to experiment oc with my q9550 cpu. I am having hard time finding a motherboard which can uses standard psu as well as overclocking support.

I have OEM motherboard which has ddr2 6gb ram and non standard psu so I cannot upgrade that and psu is only 240W. Ideally since i got new case I want to host new mobo in there while using parts from HP DC7800 eg ram hdd etc.

I would be greatly appreciate if someone can help me find a motherboard which can fit the bill.

Thank you.

tnx

tnx

Associate
Sound like you could do with an Abit IP35 Pro...

I wonder who would have one of those ??????

;)

Man of Honour
Hi and welcome to the forums. :)

Argueably the best overclocking boards for the Q9550 were the Asus P45 boards such as the P5Q-E/Pro/Pro Turbo/Deluxe. I had a Asus P5Q Pro Turbo and got my old Q9550 to 4.13Ghz in it. We had a excellent thread on here where we all put our overclocking settings which can be found here. Just don't go spending too much money on such a old outdated platform.

Associate
OP
@pastymuncher

Thank you for the reply. Yes I wont spend bucket tone of money on it i just want to find a cheap used board which would give me chance to play around with oc. If you dont mind could you please recommend me these oc mobos either on ebay or other websites.

Thank

Man of Honour
P45 were way better in my experience with the Q9550 - P35 boards were mostly designed before the 45nm cores and later compatability patched. Had mine stable beyond 4.5GHz on a P45 board while 4GHz max on others.

Man of Honour