1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Quadfire 5970's

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Schoieuk, 10 Apr 2010.

  1. Schoieuk

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jan 2010

    Posts: 415

    Location: Brighton

    Is it possible to have 4 5970's working togeather?

    i am purely interested to see if it possible and if any one has it :>

    Please dont leave comments like 'thats just not needed' and so on....

    just interested at what performance 3/4 5970's would give ^^
     
  2. andythelandy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2009

    Posts: 431

    I think Quad fire Is the maximum that works, so that would be 2 5970s (4 cores)
     
  3. Schoieuk

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jan 2010

    Posts: 415

    Location: Brighton

    orly? thats a shame :p i forget that the 5970 is actually 2 cores nd therefore is as 2 cards stuck togeather (in essence) I wonder what the performance is of 2 then?
     
    Last edited: 10 Apr 2010
  4. andythelandy

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Sep 2009

    Posts: 431

    Don't hold me to that But i think thats How it works :p, I Think 4 cores probably makes very little difference from 3 I know there are some people running a 5970 + 5870 for trifire so it obviously works well with 3.
     
  5. jorzeh

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,432

    Location: Stockport

    I think i would go the 5870 vapour X X3 and oc the GPUs to 1Ghz pew pew Trifire.
     
  6. twist3d0n3

    Capodecina

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 10,483

    Location: Bath, England

    5970+5870 here. works a charm in single display mode, but doesn't work properly at all in eyefinitely.
     
  7. Schoieuk

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Jan 2010

    Posts: 415

    Location: Brighton

    As i said just interested in 2 5970's :>
     
  8. dmxdex2020

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Nov 2008

    Posts: 2,926

    Location: West Midlands

    Get a 27" monitor or a 30" monitor and its proberly worth it.
     
  9. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    You can only use 2 5970, max of 4 gpu's as previously said.

    Even if you could have more, scaling gets less effective and can even be worse with more gpu's you add to the mix. 2-3 is probably the sweet spot unless cash isn't a problem.

    Also I don't think eyefinity works on cfx with more than 2 gpu's. Which would be the main reason why you'd need so much gpu horsepower.

    When/if it does allow more than 2, you'd probably end up needing the 2gb versions as well if you are doing 3-5x 24" or 30" eyefinity with lots of aa.
     
  10. rancid_elf

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 245

    I have a 5970 + 5870 in trifire. I get well over 200fps in BC2 all maxed out with res of 1920x1200.

    Only problems with it at the moment though is eyefinity. I can use the single 5970 or single 5870 in eyefinity at res of 5760x1200 but crossfire x of the 5970+5870 in eyefinity is stuffed and you only get max fps of 20 on everything. Still waiting for a fix from ati for that.
     
  11. unp|dissy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Feb 2010

    Posts: 2,186

    Location: Chester

    Same. Use one monitor.

    Everything runs a dream =)
     
  12. rancid_elf

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 245

    I did a quick test last night and I believe the 10.4b drivers have fixed the tri-fire eyefinity problem. Will do a proper test tonight and will let you know.
     
  13. unp|dissy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 22 Feb 2010

    Posts: 2,186

    Location: Chester

    Please do :)
     
  14. rancid_elf

    Gangster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2009

    Posts: 245

    Right I did not have time to do full tests as I was too busy setting up a new network but I did have chance to find out a couple of things.

    I have a 5970 in slot 1 & a 5870 in slot 3. I have done this temporarily until I get my new water cooling to keep the cards cool. The problem with the current setup is that the 5870 runs at 8 rather than 16.

    Anyway running with CrossFireX in single screen mode I am definatly getting good results ( not as good as it would be with 5870 @16 but good ).

    I put desktop into eyefinity. 5760 x 1200 on 3 x 24 inch mons.

    I run Dirt2 ( my usual testing software for eyefinity and CrossfireX ).

    Usually at this stage Dirt2 runs at 20fps.. I must state I also get 20fps in BC2 with this setup also.

    I ran the Diret2 Benchmark test and got 62fps av. All settings are maxed.

    Now there are a couple of problems here and I need to test again with 5870 in slot 2 @ 16...reasons are as follows.

    With just 5970 in Dirt2 I get 61fps av.

    gpuZ is reporting 5870 is disabled ( shows this for extended desktop also ). However I know the 5870 is working in CrossFireX because if I run single screen I get at least 25% increase in score over single 5970 running heaven demo ( works out about right with 5870 only running @ 8 ).

    So at the moment I cannot tell if the 5870 is actually being used in Dirt2 or not. I will do another test tonight ( if I get time ) with 5870 in slot 2 @ 16 but so far it is looking good that 10.4b has fixed the eyefinity problem.

    I have also found posts elsewhere on net where others have stated this also :)

    EDIT : btw forgot to mention in response to initial post. Another reason you cannot run quad 5970's is because the 5970 only has a single crossfire bridge plug whereas the 5870's etc have 2 :)
     
    Last edited: 13 Apr 2010