1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about a the Canon iP4200

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by basmic, 28 Feb 2006.

  1. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Basically all I want to know is, can you use the lower tray (not sure if it's an output or input tray) to feed paper?

    [​IMG]

    The image tells me it is output only, with the input being at the rear.

    The reason I ask, is I only have about 9" of shelf space for a printer - therefore a rear tray going up against the wall, is quite simply out of the question. :(
     
  2. Scythe

    Soldato

    Joined: 23 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,326

    I have this printer, the ip2000 but it isnt the same as in pic :S Anyway, on mine i can select which one i want to feed paper in, mine feeds paper from the bottom tray and comes out of the bottom tray
     
  3. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Anybody? I'm not saying we have loads, but I thought we had a few owners of the iP4200.
     
  4. InQ

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,652

    Location: Preston

  5. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Anybody else?
     
  6. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Bugger me, just realised I mis-typed the subject! Meant for it to be an iP4200! :o
     
  7. KillBoY_UK

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2004

    Posts: 4,276

    Location: Oxford

    u can use both
     
  8. markyb

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,117

    Location: Essex

    hey,

    I have the IP4000 Printer, Its the same as the IP4200 but they have changed the look a little.

    The printer allows you to feed from either paper tray bottom/top (Both are inputs). There is a button on the front which allows you to select a paper tray. I always use the bottom tray for A4, and open up the top tray sometimesfor 4x6.

    Its a an amazing printer, esp for the money and its really good on ink too.

    Hope this helps buddy ;)
     
  9. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Pretty much what I wanted to hear.

    Can't be much worse than my HP Deskjet 3820 that's now in multiple pieces. ;)
     
  10. Scythe

    Soldato

    Joined: 23 Jun 2005

    Posts: 5,326

    LOL i had a HP Deskjet 3822, same but different shape i think and it was carp, kept breaking and everything so i got my ip2000 and its great!
     
  11. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    TBH I didn't my 3820. It seemed reliable enough, but it was a bit sluggish on photo prints and couldn't print on CDs or do borderless printing.

    Basically on the last it made grinding noises, chewed paper up, and point-blank refused to acknowledge any print job. So, with the aid of a flat-headed screwdriver, I forced the top cover off. :)

    My Canon should be with my next week. :cool:
     
  12. ben_j_davis

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,862

    Location: Tonbridge, Kent

    I have this printer, i usually just feed the paper from the top, never tried it from the bottom (not sure if its possible.)
     
  13. Brum Man

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,032

    It is as explained above. The bottom should actually be a better feed as I believe it also allows duplex printing (correct term I think), from what I remember when settting the g/f's up.
     
  14. ACPCUP

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,165

    Location: Up A Tree

    Thing is, you cant put A4 paper in the bottom tray and close it!
     
  15. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Why not? :confused:
     
  16. Brum Man

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,032

    You can close it, as in put the lid on the paper cartridge, but when you slot the tray in back in to the printer the paper tray sticks out about 2/3 inches, just down to the fact the the printer is not deep enough to take the complete depth of the paper when the paper is sitting flat.

    Still looks good though, you wouldn't even notice the reason why it stuck out if you didn't know, it just looks like part of the printer design.
     
    Last edited: 2 Mar 2006
  17. ACPCUP

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,165

    Location: Up A Tree

    Ok. I will give that a go then. Be nice to leave the A4 paper in the bottom tray!! Does the paper stick out or does it go over the end that is inside the printer?
     
    Last edited: 2 Mar 2006
  18. basmic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 10 Apr 2004

    Posts: 13,144

    Location: Darlington, County Durham

    Re-ordered it from a quicker source (the original and current sources aren't OcUK, so I'm not trying to slander them.

    Should be with me by Monday! All for around £70! :cool:
     
  19. Brum Man

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 3,032

    it doesnt stick out of the cartridge at all, the cartridge slides out to fully accommodate the paper, and then there is a little lid that goes over the bit of the cartridge that sticks out of the front to cover the paper up.
     
    Last edited: 2 Mar 2006
  20. ACPCUP

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,165

    Location: Up A Tree

    No chance of a pic of that Brum Man? I didn't think the A4 Paper would fit in the bottom tray! Looks too small!!