1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Question aboute opty!!!

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by ReeceKB, 31 Jul 2006.

  1. ReeceKB

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 832

    Location: NZ

    Hi

    Can some one explain how the opty steppings work (144,146,148)
    they seem very complicated.

    any help would be realy apretiated

    Thank you very much!!! :) :)
     
  2. cliffy

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 916

    Simply put its all about the multipliers, i know the 146 has a 10 multiplier i think the 148 is 11 and the 146 a 9 but only really sure on the 146, a quick google search should give you the correct answer though
     
  3. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 2,532

    Location: Nottingham

    Here's how it works.

    Opteron 144 - Mutliplier of 9
    Opteron 146 - Mutliplier of 10
    Opteron 148 - Mutliplier of 11

    So, usually FSB of 200. Opteron 146 would be 200 x 10 = 2.0GHz
     
  4. ReeceKB

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 832

    Location: NZ


    Ok now i understand that but whats this i copied and pasted it of an ebay listing:
    CAB2E 0548FPDW

    Thanks
    Reece :)
     
  5. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 2,532

    Location: Nottingham

    That's the stepping.

    CAB2E 0548FPDW

    Bit in bold means it was manufacturerd in 2005 of week 48. FPDW has something do with what day of the week it was made (if I recall) and what batch of wafer was used, something techy like that but it's a long time ago I read about it.
     
  6. ReeceKB

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 832

    Location: NZ


    so what would the best steping be to overclock
    and what would the worst be.

    so that if i ever bought one i would know wich one to buy
     
  7. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 2,532

    Location: Nottingham

    I wouldn't know the best stepping at the moment, it changes from time to time when a new set of chips are produced. A good place to checkout is XtremeSystems Forums, they have alot of regular posts about steppings and overclocks. From memory (and experience) the 0540 FPxW Opteron 146s were the best, 3GHz easily, but this may have changed. :D
     
  8. stigggeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,900

  9. ReeceKB

    Hitman

    Joined: 16 Jul 2006

    Posts: 832

    Location: NZ



    Thanks a lot for your help and that link!!!! :) :) :)
     
  10. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 May 2004

    Posts: 2,532

    Location: Nottingham

    Haha, nice, is there anything wiki doesn't do. :rolleyes:

    But be careful, take some of that with a pinch of salt, such as:

    I know for a fact that isn't true, stable overclock anyway.
     
  11. stigggeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,900

    yeah like i say its a 'rough idea' like most things overclocking its chip dependant :D steppings give ball part figures nothing is set in stone from steppings, just 'more' chance of getting a good clock