1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

R.I.P 2x Only 4 Hours old 300GB HDD

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by hi_tech_guy_18, 27 Jan 2006.

  1. hi_tech_guy_18

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 71

    Two Brand New Maxtor DiamondMax 300GB 6L300R0 ATA-133 16MBs
    Both Died within Hours of getting them! :(

    Both now are Dead – Bios refuses to pick them up and one of the HDD is having a fit

    Put my old HDDs back in and no Problems (oddy Both Maxtor)

    Tested both of them on my other PC with spinright 6 it could not see them or even recover them

    Spec 1: Main PC
    AMD 64 FX-55 - 1 GB Ram - Motherboard Gigabyte GA-K8NXP

    Spec 2: Workbench PC
    AMD K7 XP +2200 - 512MB - Nforce 2 Ultra

    Put forward an RMA Request to OC
    Fingers Crossed I Hope my 2 HDD are not Part of a Bulk Bad batch
     
  2. joeyjojo

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 5,519

    Location: Herts

    I guess your voting maxtor then? ;)
    But seriously, unlucky about the drives. What do you mean by "is having a fit"?
     
  3. hi_tech_guy_18

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 71

    "is having a fit" At Post the Bios searches for the HDD (bios is set to auto detect HDD)

    At that moment you hear the Hard drive Scratch around a load of times (Something it didnt do in the first 40 mins) sadly the bios cant detect it and gives up however the drive is still going nuts

    I know for a fact the IDE-133 Cable is fine due I have my Working 200GB Maxtor Connected to it at the mo
     
  4. Humey

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 144

    Location: Glasgow

    I find it near impossible 2 new drives sold to same peep both are dead in 40mins, there is something wrong here or something on your hardware has killed them, check your 12v line from psu.
     
  5. hi_tech_guy_18

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 71

    Its happened before now I did work in a shop and use to build PCs and we got a bad batch of HDDs now and again

    Voltage rails are fine sitting at 12.3Volts

    If there was a hardware fault it would of taken the whole system down.
    And also my old HDD 200GB when I put it back in
     
  6. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    When it comes to maxtor's consumer range, nothing is impossible :). Hope the next two you get are good, if not, why not go for Hitachi (as fast as Maxtors but more reliable).
     
  7. hi_tech_guy_18

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 71

    I will do if it happens again However my last 2x 200GB Maxtors have been rock solid stable.
     
  8. Humey

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 144

    Location: Glasgow

    Smid, you sure like to be a maxtor hater dont you lol, I could bring peeps here that could tell same story of every other manu, fact is I have had good service from them.

    Im begining to think these drives aint even dead, something is funny, sure they could be both from bad batch but serial No would need be near each other.

    Id try them in a different pc if thats possible.

    Did you apply the big drive enabler, I know some think you dont need it, but fact is maxtor say you do and other manus now copied them and offer same reg patched, you obv need mobo with 48bit and xp sp1 at least but they still advise you run patch and its tiny and takes 1 reboot forver till you again format, and it only runs 1x so it must change something.

    Not saying this is your issue, but all I can think of for now, but telling you maxtor are crap and to buy a hitachi aint really helping is it ?.


    " Maxtor's Big Drive Enabler is a one step executable that enables support for drives larger than 137 Gigabytes in Windows 2000 Service Pack 3 and XP Service Pack 1. This utility takes the guess work out of editing the Windows registry. The Big Drive Enabler fixes an operating system limitation. This utility is needed anytime a Hard Disk Drive larger than 137 GB is connected to the motherboard's ATA bus, regardless of any system BIOS that supports 48-bit LBA. "

    " Note: Failure to install the required service packs and install the Enable Big LBA patch can result in data loss when accessing the hard disk beyond 137 Gigabytes. For more information regarding Windows limitations and the 137 Gigabyte barrier please read Maxtor Knowledge Base Answer ID 960 and Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 303013. "
     
    Last edited: 28 Jan 2006
  9. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    I try to be helpful and I cannot wholeheartedly recommend a Maxtor Desktop drive to anyone.

    And, no, I don't hate them - they have one of, if not THE, best SCSI drive in their 15K Atlas drive. Their SCSI drives are of excellent quality but they do not seem to have brought this standard to their consumer range which is appalling.

    It sounds like the dreaded controller board problem which have plagued the DiamondMax10's. All over the internet people suffer with disappearing drives.
     
  10. hi_tech_guy_18

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Oct 2004

    Posts: 71

    The Drives serial No's are Very close
    and the Drives are dead Not even the Bios will pick them up

    2 PC Confirm it since I'm going over to a friends house on sunday I will test them both with his PC since I'm working on his anyway
     
  11. nach

    Associate

    Joined: 30 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5

    strange one that .. im running 3 x sata 300 gb maxtors in my htpc .. no probs to report.. put it down to a bad batch
     
  12. Dr Zoidberg

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 710

    Location: Somerset

    Every drive i have ever bought for my self has been maxtor and never had any problems, untill a few weeks ago, ordered two diamonmax plus 10 250gb sata drives, one was dead on arrival the other was fine. the replacement is also ok. but it may just persude me to try another brand next time i order a drive, especially if maxtor seem to be doing a good job of supplying bad drives at the moment.
     
  13. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    it's all down to the luck of the draw IMO. personally i have no probs with maxtors and the only drives i avoid are samsungs since theirs is the only drive that has ever completely failed on me out of dozens.

    had it tested (free check from data recovery guy) and was told the board was dead and the head was completely locked/seized (whatever that means).

    bad sectors etc i can handle, but the thing worked one minute, on next reset - poof, it's gone. no warning signs or anything. used hitachi/ibm/maxtor/WD/seagate/quantum/ and only samsung has died like that. enough for me to stay away from them anyways.

    p.s. wont touch maxtors at the mo since they have (or had) a firmware prob and didnt play well with DFI NF4 mobos :)
     
  14. lordedmond

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,573

    Location: Tilchestune

    I would blame the treatment they get whilst being transported from the manufacture to the retailer and then to you , HD do not like being used as a football
     
  15. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    forgot to add that i have a 30gig WD drive thats immortal!

    had for about 5 years ish, and doesnt read or write above 8meg/sec, stops intermittently and makes a hell of a noise - clanging, banging etc, then resumes.

    been doing that for 4 ish years and not a single bad sector yet :eek: :D
     
  16. VeNT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,662

    Location: Cornwall

    tbh, I've yet to have an issue with ANY of the old IBM drives I've got (all sub 100gig sadly) I even droped one out of a window (2nd floor) 4 years ago and its STILL WORKING TO THIS DAY!!
     
  17. Dave2150

    Soldato

    Joined: 31 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,250

    Location: Wales

    I know many people who have had problems with Maxtors, id stay clear.

    The only drives I use in my own machines are Western Digital - fantastic drives :)
     
  18. chopchop

    Banned

    Joined: 14 Jun 2004

    Posts: 6,118

    use seagate next time ;)
     
  19. bikes

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Sep 2004

    Posts: 1,590

    Location: on the road

    Thats my motto from now on after having 2 maxtors die on me
     
  20. Leporello

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Oct 2005

    Posts: 481

    Oh dear, I was about to buy a Maxtor Maxline 111 today but I guess I should check with Rumour Control before proceeding.