1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

radeon 9800 pro work well with oblivion?

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by omi, 14 Aug 2006.

  1. omi

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 101

    how well would my pc handle oblivion?

    AMD 2500XP
    1.5gb ram
    9800pro 128mb

    just updated all the drivers.

    left at stockspeeds at the moment but the 9800pro goes up to XT speeds easily. havent bothered to check if I can flash it to a XT which I might do in the future.

    the CPU is running at the stock 1.8ghz but can go up to 2ghz-ish without any serious tweaking.

    so far it seems to work alright but struggles on some gams when i want all the nice graphical glory.
     
  2. DaveyD

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 19 Jan 2003

    Posts: 12,647

    Location: Warwickshire

    You may be able to manage on low to medium detail, but will really depend upon your own preference regarding performance.

    What is the biggest bottleneck in that system is certainly the CPU, then then graphics card, oblivion is a very hungry game from what I could tell.
     
  3. Drizmod

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,330

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    Not very well. I have a 6600GT and athlon 64 3000 and that struggles at even low settings. Only time I got decent performance was when setting the resolution to 800X600 but this looks really crap on an LCD monitor
     
  4. ajgoodfellow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Dec 2004

    Posts: 11,343

    Location: Shirley, Solihull, UK

    Should be fine - Oblivion seems to favour ATI cards

    My brother has a Mobile Athlon XP @ 2.6GHz, 1GB of DDR400 CAS2.5 ram and a 9800Pro and he plays Oblivion at 1280x1024, low to med detail and it's perfectly smooth

    My old X800Pro seemed to run Oblivion a lot better than my friend's 6800GT for some reason too
     
  5. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    A friend of mine had Oblivion running in quite decent detail on his 9800 Pro, his LCD limited him to 1024x768 though, but that's probably a good thing as it may have died from a sudden heart attack.
     
  6. Bezinator

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Jul 2006

    Posts: 456

    Location: Brighton

    i didnt work on mine at all - how ever low i put the settings it just jumped everywhere..
     
  7. Sleepery

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jun 2003

    Posts: 9,941

    Location: Fraggle Rock

    Just bear in mind that low to medium detail on Oblivion looks nothing like the screenshots you see of it. You'll get the gameplay, but definitely not the eye candy.
     
  8. eekfek

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,933

    Location: ]8-

    p4 3.2HT 9800XT256 and 894ram...
    i could run it no probs, but it bored the knockers off me.
    medium detail and you should be fine
     
  9. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,282

    Location: Rutland

    With the overclocking to XT and the nice chunk of RAM you have you should do fine.

    If you've got PC3200 set your system to 200FSB (if it will do it), that will give you 2.2Ghz CPU speed (which most 2500s will do trouble free) and a very healthy boost in memory bandwidth, both of which will help no end :)
     
  10. omi

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Aug 2005

    Posts: 101

    thanks for the tips. no eye candy, sigh, i learnt to live with that as i never could afford to play games with the ful she-bangs unless its a 3+ year old game. :rolleyes:

    yes the CPU can go up to 200FSB but its not very stable if i recall, i never did mess around with the settings to get the best multiplier and FSB combination.

    I got some very good ram unfortunately the 512 x 2 of OCZ gold can get very good timings but the additional 512 corsair stick isnt so good. plus i am not so familiar with the whole OC-ing thing, never invested the time to get into it.

    would i see much gains if i flashed the 9800pro to an XT, i think you get more pipelines?

    probably be upgrading in a few months when i saved enough dosh, prices of CPUs looks like going down fast. the core 2 dou looks interesting since i like to multitask as well. quite like to get onto the PCI-E bandwagon to get a better gpu.
     
  11. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,282

    Location: Rutland

    No more pipelines, it just increases the stock speeds to XT speeds.

    You have to have an R360 core to flash to XT, if you have an R350 core you'll get artifacts, as the R360 (which all the XTs are and some of the Pros) has slightly improved shaders.
     
  12. Gandalf501

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Aug 2004

    Posts: 363

    Location: Manchester

    I get 17-30 fps outside

    and 40-70 fps inside/dungeon

    Medium Size Textures
    Middle sliders for object/actor/tree/grass
    Distant lands on/buildings/trees on
    Bloom lighting
    1024 res

    9800pro (Stock), AMD2600+ 1Gig 333Mhz DDR ram

    I increased the stock speed of the 9800pro to 415Mhz and 740Mhz. Didnt make a blind bit of difference really.

    Im just running back on stock.

    The biggest increase in performance to get those fps is to kill all non-essential processes. If I just load oblivion with all the standard processes running (av, firewall etc), it runs like a dog.

    I dont mind the 9800pro for oblivion. I think the main bottleneck is my processor. Oblivion wants at least a 3Ghz!!
     
  13. freebooter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Mar 2003

    Posts: 1,325

    Location: location,location

    I run oblivion on a Duron 2200, 9800pro and 1GB ram. It is sometimes noticeably but only slightly jerky inside if there are lots of npcs around but it plays fine. If you want to play the game then you will be fine. I am sure the visuals look better on a more powerful system but I haven't got one so I just use what I have ;)
     
  14. roid

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,494

    Ran pretty well on my 2500+ xp athlon, with 1 gb ram and a gefroce 6800. Had to tweak the settings alot though to get an acceptable frame rate.