1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

raid question

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by linwelin, 6 Mar 2010.

  1. linwelin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,531

    Location: Belfast

    Hey guys, i recently just built a new pc :D and i got a new hdd Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache now i was wondering if it would be a good idea to buy another one and use raid, i have to be honest i dont know anything about it, but thats why im here :D i plan on having my games on the drive and a small partition for my OS would it be a good idea to buy another drive and put this on a raid ? or would i not see much of a gain for games ?
     
  2. Da[]San

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,616

    Location: North West

    Pretty easy to do, you will need to re-install windows unless you already did install using Raid on the Bios.

    Setup Raid 0 32kb Stripe, fairly nips along. Currently using it as my OS until next month when i get the Intel Mainstream SSD, then it will be used just for installs and downloading to..

    [​IMG]
     
  3. linwelin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,531

    Location: Belfast

    does it matter that i have partitioned the drive ? 70 gig for my OS and the the other partition has games on it, will that effect a raid ?
     
  4. master811

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Jul 2005

    Posts: 105

    Location: London

    That won't affect the raid, but just remember that the drive is always faster in the first 15-20% of it, and after that the speed begins to drop off. So if you have a lots of programs on another partition, with lots of empty space between them, it won't run as fast as it would if the first partition was smaller or they were all on the same one.
     
  5. Da[]San

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,616

    Location: North West

    FYI i have my Windows Partition set at 60gb, which should be plenty however if i need to at a later date it is pretty easy to resize.
     
  6. linwelin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Dec 2009

    Posts: 1,531

    Location: Belfast

    decided not to bother and just bought a new HD 5770 instead will prolly raid it at some point, but my HD 3650 is struggling with bad company 2 :S