1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Raijintek AM4 mounting kit with Noctua cooler

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Zaidyboii, 27 Nov 2020.

  1. Zaidyboii

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Nov 2020

    Posts: 10

    Location: Glasgow

    Hi, sorry if this is the wrong sub-forum to post in.

    I was wondering if anyone knows if a 3rd party AM4 mounting kit such as the one that Raijintek offers will work with mounting a Noctua cooler? I currently have a Rajintek themis cpu cooler installed and would like to switch that out for a different cooler most likely the Noctua NH-D15S.
    N.B. I dont have the original AMD AM4 mounting kit as the system came with the Raijintek cooler already installed

    Thanks :)
     
  2. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 11,892

    The Noctua would have its own AM4 mounting kit.

    What am I missing here?
     
  3. Zaidyboii

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Nov 2020

    Posts: 10

    Location: Glasgow

    Sorry, it includes the AM4 mounting brackets and screws but not the backplate as it relies on the original AM4 backplate that the motherboard comes with. However, I do not have this and instead have the Rajintek AM4 backplate. Would a fair assumption be that the Noctua cooler would still be compatible as it is still AM4?
     
  4. SonicSW20

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Apr 2019

    Posts: 1,197

    If the screw threads are the same then it probably will be.

    Should really keep original backplates though for this reason!
     
  5. Zaidyboii

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Nov 2020

    Posts: 10

    Location: Glasgow

    Yes I agree it should be kept! However, in this situation the system was shipped by Overclockers themselves and they did not include the original backplate for some reason. I have checked the motherboard box but it is what it is
     
  6. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2008

    Posts: 11,892

    Have you asked them (Overclockers) about it?
     
  7. Zaidyboii

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Nov 2020

    Posts: 10

    Location: Glasgow

    No I haven't. It's fine as the AMD backplate is fairly cheap to get online and can arrive quicker if needed. Thanks for the help guys. I'll update this thread if things work out with the Raijintek backplate!
     
  8. doyll

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Jul 2011

    Posts: 8,391

    I might be wrong, but I think you need the stock AMD backing plate to mount NH-D15. I haven't bought a pre-build system sense early 80s Intel. If OcUK didn't include it with our pre-built system I suggest you email or call them about getting one. They can probably some setting around and can send you one.
     
  9. Zaidyboii

    Associate

    Joined: 6 Nov 2020

    Posts: 10

    Location: Glasgow

    So I successfully installed the new cooler and had to use the AMD backplate. Luckily I had ordered one online just in case, they were really cheap anyway :)
     
  10. doyll

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 1 Jul 2011

    Posts: 8,391

    Good to know. Thanks!