1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ramdom black screen after the slash screen when booting from cold?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Bone9, 14 Aug 2017.

  1. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    As above guys i'm getting a random black screen after the splash screen before the log in screen. Sometimes it boots fine and can log in and sometimes it just goes black after the splash screen.

    I can only press the reset button to fix this then it restarts and checks the main ssd and then boot fine. No issues once logged in.

    Any ideas? How can I find out the cause?

    Any help much appreciated :) Thanks
     
  2. Badfish

    Gangster

    Joined: 12 Feb 2007

    Posts: 288

    You get a black screen after the BIOS or after your OS loads? What OS are you using?
     
  3. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    Hi, after the bios before the OS loads. Win 10 64 bit.
     
  4. HoneyBadger

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Aug 2016

    Posts: 2,939

    Location: Kent

    Is the spec of the PC the one in your sig?
     
  5. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    Yes mate.
     
  6. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    Any ideas guys?
     
  7. mickyflinn

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 23 Mar 2011

    Posts: 8,165

    Location: West Side

    Does your monitor go on standby ?
     
  8. Danny75

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 26 Aug 2013

    Posts: 8,056

    Just a shot in the dark - hardware acceleration on Chrome was making a friend's screen flash black at times. Not during boot-up mind you*. Disabling the feature reduced it but only got rid of it completely when he changed to Firefox (and HW acceleration disabled there). Not sure why it's fine on some systems and not others, but it seems Creators Update related. My Firefox pages would go black every few hours, till I disabled HW acceleration as well. Not sure if your issue is similar or has a different cause.

    * Although if it's happening just after the splash screen for the login screen, that's probably when a browser will already load, i.e. when you login, the browser should immediately be available unlike other stuff that takes a few seconds to appear.
     
    Last edited: 16 Aug 2017
  9. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    No mate.
     
  10. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    Just did the memory test and that passed fine. Thinking of testing the ssd next. Any recommendations on what to use?
     
  11. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 13,462

    Is the 1080 a recent addition and are you using a DP connection?
     
  12. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    The 1080 had recently been replaced as was getting the black screen issue with the first ftw card. This is the later card with no black screen issues apparently. The old issue would turn my display off but with this card it stays on. Yes I am using a display port cable. I have just swapped this out to see if that was the problem but still no joy.
     
  13. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 13,462

    I suffer the same problem with my GTX 10 series using a DP connection - it's not uncommon.

    If you want to confirm that this is the issue try an HDMi cable for while.

    It's not a major issue - more of an irritation from cold boots.

    You could try a BIOS update - if you're not using the latest release.
     
  14. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    Thanks. Whats the benefit of using a dp cable over a hdmi cable? How do you get yours to boot? Restart button?
     
  15. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 13,462

    I've resolved my cold boots by conning my system - i use an HDMI cabel on one of my other monitors. It then boots into windows on my primary.

    What monitor do have?
     
  16. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    I have a Dell U2715H
     
  17. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 13,462

    HDMI 1.4 or greater will be fine for 1440p 60Hz monitor.
     
  18. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    Cheers mate
     
  19. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Apr 2003

    Posts: 13,462

    No worries - hope it works for you.
     
  20. Bone9

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2015

    Posts: 1,197

    I'll report back on here :)