1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Razer Copperhead Mouse USB Problems

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by The Asgard, 3 Feb 2006.

  1. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,588

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Hi,
    A few friends including myself bought these a couple of months ago and we have had nothing but problems with the mouse not being recognised on XP startup. The only way to get XP to see it again is to unplug and plug it into a different USB port. We are all experiencing the same problem and I just did a reinstall last night on a new mobo and still the same problem. Seems to do it with or without the Razer drivers.

    Running the lastest drivers and firmware.

    Its getting to the point where we are going just send the things back. Never had a problem with my MS mouse.

    Anyone else experiencing the same problems?
     
  2. Krowzer

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jan 2005

    Posts: 926

    updating the drivers and firmware worked for me, have you tryed a different USB port?
     
  3. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,588

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Hi,
    Yes from my 2405 to all the ports on the mobo. Was using a DFI SLI and now using AN32-SLI both experienced the same problem with a fresh install on the AN32 last night. 3 other friends who also bought the mouse at the same time have the same problem.
     
  4. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Oct 2004

    Posts: 3,057

    Location: London

    It's a nightmare, isn't it? My diamondback does exactly the same thing. I think I found a cure on the FAQ page at the razorzone website.

    Go into device manager and open the usb controllers section at the bottom.

    Go to properties on each USB root hub, and select the power management tab.

    Untick where it says Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power.

    So far this has worked for me.

    Good luck. These mice are great if you can get the bugs ironed out.
     
  5. Dirk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,930

  6. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,588

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    Many thanks for taking the time to post peeps, it is very much appreciated. :) Will give all the suggestions a go and report back with the outcome.

    thanks again
     
  7. The Asgard

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,588

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    The lastest Beta bios sorted the problem. Many thanks for all the help