1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Really need your expertise and knowledge to diagnose a hard reset problem. Please Help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Illuminist, 18 May 2018.

  1. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Hello,

    Thanks for coming to try to help.

    This is the problem in it's entirety.

    The Pc worked perfectly for about a year until my old psu popped and caused the entire house to trip a fuse, (february)
    I replaced the Psu with a kolink 1000w bronze and all was good until I woke up after 2 days (Pc was idle when i left it)
    and in the morning the pc was off, it would not turn on unless i took out my vega 56 and turned out that the vega had died in the middle of the night and smelt of electrical burn

    I RMA'd the vega and bought a second hand vega 64.

    All was good for 3 days until the pc started hard resetting, sometimes 1 minute after loading a game, sometimes 3 hours after. Other times i would be using the internet with music on and it would hard reset randomly.

    Things I've tried in 2 weeks:

    Completely fresh install of windows
    Completely resetting the bios to stock, (even running the ram at stock and not its rated mhz)
    Different GPU drivers (also using driver ddu many times)
    Taking out one of the sticks of ram (still happens)
    Checking the voltages in various programs (everything perfect)
    Running aida64 , memory cpu fsu hdd ssd gpu cache with all my ram, and with just one stick. (No crashes at all, temperatures very very good)
    Running Aida64 with every thing overclocked , the cpu (4.6ghz the ram (2800mhz) and the gpu to try and make it crash (No crashes happened temps max on cpu at 75.C Gpu 70/80.C)
    Changed the power strip its plugged into.
    Checked and re plugged in all connections.

    Please help

    I don't know what else it could be, i only can think that maybe the pci slot was damaged, the motherboard itself, the cpu, or BOTH sticks of ram when the previous psu popped.

    I appreciate anything you can say to help.

    I5 6600k
    Corsair 2666mhz ddr4
    Vega 64
    Kolink 1000w Bronze
    samsung 750 SSD
    WD Black 1 TB HDD
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2018
  2. Journey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,593

    Location: West Midlands

    Have you considered the PSU that you bought could be faulty/rubbish. Buy a decent Seasonic one, 600w is more than enough. :)
     
  3. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    I considered this, but its 1000w and bronze, the one i had before was a "other popular pc websites" own brand of 700w bronze and that lasted for 2 years.

    Do you really think it could just be the power supply?

    Ps a 600w is the absolute bare minimum required for my system with a vega 64
     
  4. Journey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,593

    Location: West Midlands

    Yes, it could. However, who knows what else might have been damaged when the last one popped. It is not impossible for a newly bought part to be faulty :)
     
  5. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Oct 2003

    Posts: 10,203

    Location: Essex

    Want to test it on my 750 seasonic platinum that I bought for the miner? I'm sure we can sort something out and am happy to swing it your way for some testing if all other avenues are explored.

    Personally I'm not sure could just be some random hardware compatibility issue that is hard to pin down. I have looked at your system and app logs and nothing jumps out.
     
  6. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    I would appreciate having something to test that out with Vince, at least i can get through the components one at a time.
    Hoping its not both ram or the MB or the PCI Ex slot.. i just dont know anymore
     
  7. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 30 Oct 2003

    Posts: 10,203

    Location: Essex

    Can talk in the Mumbles over the weekend and ill sort you something to test with :) I do only have seasonic platinums so we can try one of them bad boys. Will it fix it? IMO not a hope but it will be interesting seeing. Also update bios to latest one on your board got to be worth a go.
     
  8. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Updated to latest bios, chipset and audio, flashed the gpu bios to the sapphire original in case the previous owner had fiddled with it.
     
  9. Habakkuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Feb 2017

    Posts: 1,015

    You've covered the bases for low hanging fruit - You should use a PSU tester to see if the PSU is within spec.

    This won't show the spec of the PSU under load - it's still the most likely part to need replacing.
     
  10. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Aida 64 test on all components for 14 hours No errors
    Memtest no errors
    Played games for 6 hours no crash
    Alt tabbed and it then reset the pc

    Anyone out that has any theories please help
     
  11. Habakkuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Feb 2017

    Posts: 1,015

    This has to be a software issue right - can you partition your drive & install a clean windows installation to it to test the alt-tab from a game?
     
  12. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    This is the 3rd time I've installed windows and also included with this was 2 resets of windows back to fresh It's a most perplexing problem.....
     
  13. t31os

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 May 2006

    Posts: 3,381

    Location: Surrey - UK

    Short inside the case? (if it's feasible to run the system outside the case, it might be worth a shot) Faulty / badly wired peripheral?

    If you have a second system you can test individual parts in, that might help eliminate parts being a problem, even if that just means HDDs, GPU and USB devices. It could be a long standing motherboard issue that hasn't made itself obvious.
     
  14. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    Could well be the thing is it takes playing a game before it crashes, sometimes after 2 minutes sometimes after 2 hours. I will try this like you say
    I'm in Surrey too wonder if your near me
     
  15. t31os

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 May 2006

    Posts: 3,381

    Location: Surrey - UK

    Have you tested using a different plug at the wall? (or different 4-way or whatever you're using) Could this may be something to do with where or how you're connecting up the equipment? Just chucking ideas out there.

    Where you located btw? Guildford is nextdoor to me.
     
  16. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    I tried a different 4 way adapter and no change, I work in Guildford !
     
  17. Habakkuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Feb 2017

    Posts: 1,015

    Hmm, with clean windows installations out of the way - intermittent faults are usually a connection problem - either a cable or socket.

    Testing the cables will show they work unless they're flexed in the right way if there's a break.

    Tried disassembling it entirely & firmly rebuilding it?
     
  18. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    So it seems like something is wrong with the motherboard as I have exausted all possiblities.

    I used a brand new gpu to test in the system, the same thing happens, except with this card the screen freezes instead of the entire system resetting.Which is interesting.
    So I will replace the psu just in case, and the motherboard also, or maybe just sell it all and get ryzen 2..
     
  19. Illuminist

    Soldato

    Joined: 26 Sep 2017

    Posts: 5,080

    Location: In the Masonic Temple

    I have spent so many weeks on this now after work and on days off that I am despising even touching it, I may try dis and re assembling it, but the problem only happens when it feels like it.
    Like i said sometimes its 2 minutes sometimes 2 days before it happens so if i did the above it will convince me that its working for a day or two and then fail on me again...
    This is the one and only thing i hate about pc's
     
  20. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2015

    Posts: 18,158

    guessing trying the difference PSU didnt help? though couldn't see from above if you managed to get ahold of one

    what is the brand of board ? and did you get form ocuk?