1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recomend me an TV Tuner card please.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chris19, 26 Feb 2006.

  1. Chris19

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Dec 2005

    Posts: 572

    Basicly im after one that offers freeview and normal TV an remote would be good but not needed.

    Any help would be great.
     
  2. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,953

    Location: England

    Compro VideoMate dvb-t 200, cheap and comes with a remote. Ive got 2 in my media center. It doesnt have an fm radio reciever built in though.
     
  3. BurningHorizons

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,872

    Location: Pateley Bridge

    Go for the Compro VideoMate DVB-T300 Digital & Analog TV Internal PCI - Retail (GX-001-CP) not the T-200 which is only Digital.
     
  4. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,953

    Location: England

    Why spend the extra money when normal tv is on freeview?
     
  5. Drefsab

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 Nov 2003

    Posts: 157

    Because you never know when you might want to connect an analog video source :D
     
  6. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,953

    Location: England

    The dvb-t200 has svideo and composite inputs.
     
  7. MNuTz

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2004

    Posts: 4,935

    Location: Market Drayton, Salop

    Ive lots of good stuff about the Leadtek WinFast DTV1000T.

    Does everything you want and comes with a remote. You can pick it up for around £44 inc VAT!
     
  8. BurningHorizons

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,872

    Location: Pateley Bridge

    In certain areas freeview can have a dodgy signal when analogue is perfectly fine.
     
  9. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: 6 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,762

    Analogue has 5 channels compared to freeviews 30+, I doubt hes buying the card to watch analogue, get the dvbt200 mate no point in wasting money.
    But since you want normal tv (dont know why you get those channels in freeview) then dvbt300 is for you, you get a remote also.
     
  10. Chris19

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Dec 2005

    Posts: 572

    Thanks for the replies, i wasnt thinking when made the post forgot that normal tv was on freeveiw.
     
  11. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,953

    Location: England


    You get those channels with freeview so you have them in digital mpeg2 format. In a few years they're going to stop analogue tv broadcasting and switch to digital which is much better.
     
  12. Amp34

    Caporegime

    Joined: 25 Jul 2005

    Posts: 28,867

    Location: Canada

    I dunno, a good analogue signal is miles better than most digital signals, especially where water is involved (the compression to digital makes it really blocky). Although to get the signal quality you would have to be sat almost ontop of the trsansmitter. :p
     
  13. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,953

    Location: England

    Water isnt blocky if the bitrate is high enough, I certainly havent noticed blocky water when watching tv.
     
  14. Trip Hazard

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Aug 2003

    Posts: 360

    Location: Southampton

    Got a quick question for the T200/T300 owners: can you manually tune or is it auto-tuning only?
    Probably sounds like a silly question but I had an all in wonder card that couldn't be manually tuned (didn't find out until lafter I bought it) and it irked me a just little.
     
  15. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,953

    Location: England

    Yes you can use manual tuning.