1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote Desktop/Remote Assistance

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Raumarik, 15 May 2006.

  1. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,772

    Does anyone know if it's possible to connect to a computer in view only mode without any user interaction using either RD or RA ?

    I can't seem to find any information about it and I'm guessing I'll have to use VNC to do it :( it's important that the user doesn't have to click anything, basically I want to be able to check that a users not in the middle of something when I try to connect with remote desktop, as it is many have a bad habit of leaving thier PCs logged in all day but I can't take the risk of them losing work when I connect.
     
  2. Fishman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,034

    Location: Welwyn Garden City

    Surely it just locks their workstation when you remote in, you dont log them out.
     
  3. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,772

    hmm good point, I'll give it a shot and see what happens on a pc I have up here at the moment never had the balls to try it when someone was logged in so far!

    watch this space! :D
     
  4. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,772

    alas no it quits anything they're in and if they're midway through a word document it just ends the process loosing whatevre they were working in :eek:

    I find it really odd that it lacks a "view" only or "share" function that you can get with VNC. have the feeling I'll be installing VNC on all the PCs in the coming weeks!
     
  5. Pyrosoft

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2004

    Posts: 342

    Location: Rotherham

    RA has a view only feature.
    As standard though the end user has to click a button saying yes, you can see what is on their screen.
    But no doubt there is some registry key or Group Policy that can be set to allow you to see straight away without any need for user confirmation.
    See this page for a bit more detail...I'll keep searching :)
     
  6. Fishman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,034

    Location: Welwyn Garden City

    Odd, every computer I have used MS remote desktop at work just locks the work station and you see what they used to see