1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote tutorial?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by ajm, 17 Jan 2006.

  1. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    Don't know if this should be in here or software.

    Does anyone know of a good easy to understand tutorial on how to setup remote assistance or remote desktop?
     
  2. TomaHawk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,117

    Location: Bristol/Manchester Uni

    If you have XP Pro.. Then I would follow this through, has every step in depth, seems cool.

    Here

    ;)
     
    Last edited: 17 Jan 2006
  3. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    Yes i do have XP pro.I will take a look thanks for the super quick reply. :)
     
  4. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    I used the tutorial above and it worked fine with the 2 pc's on my network but when i tried to connect to a friends pc it didn't work is there any other way to do it?
     
  5. wesley

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Jul 2003

    Posts: 7,467

    is your friend's pc in your LAN? if so make sure it got same workgroup if not, use IP of this pc.

    if its over the internet, he'll probably got a router then he'll need forward port 3389 (not sure if its right port) to his PC and the router will accept your RDC incoming and re-direct to his PC.
     
  6. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    Thanks for the reply wesley
    No he is not on my LAN.It is over the internet and he doesn't have a router but i do.So what will i need to do?
     
  7. wesley

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Jul 2003

    Posts: 7,467

    he got firewall? he must set his firewall to accept your RDC incoming.......i think his PC must be password protected too
     
  8. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    Ok i will ask him.
     
  9. TomaHawk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,117

    Location: Bristol/Manchester Uni

    Yeah as Wesley correctly said he does need an account (or in this case his account..) to be password protected otherwise it will not allow a connection. Just going over stuff Wesley has said, but yeah check those things out and let us know, I'm sure one of us can help you out, to sort the problem.

    Also is he on a LAN or is he directly connected to the internet?

    ;)
     
  10. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    I am a bit confused now.
    Does he need to be password protected?
    He is on a computer in another country.
    He is connected via broadband modem (So i think it's directly connected).
     
  11. wesley

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Jul 2003

    Posts: 7,467

    yes his PC must be password protected otherwise anyone could access his pc without a password, not safe :)

    doesnt matter if he's in another country

    oh? dont think XP Home Edition support RDC, dont quote me thou!
     
  12. mike1210

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 313

    Does he need to be password protected? Yes he does
    He is on a computer in another country.
    He is connected via broadband modem.

    In that case you will need to know his IP address before you can connect to him
    he can get that by going into DOS and typing ipconfig

    However port 3389 needs to be opened on his pc. It will depend on what firewall he has on the method to go about this

    with the service pack 2 firewall on windows xp. Ticking the remote desktop option should allow the service on the firewall :)

    wesley you are correct. Only Pro has remote desktop. You can install the client onto Home from a pro disk but it only supports outgoing remote desktops not incoming
     
  13. oddjob62

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Nov 2002

    Posts: 9,128

    Location: NW London

    Correct, You cannot connect TO an XP home machine using RDP, but you can connect FROM an XP home machine by downloading the RDP client from the MS site.
     
  14. crashuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 7 Dec 2005

    Posts: 2,691

    left click my computer then select properties much faster way to rdp
     
  15. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    Thanks for the info guys.

    We are both using Win XP pro
    He has Norton Internet security,so could you tell me how to go about opening this port?
    I know what his IP is.
     
  16. mike1210

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 313

    sorry i know its possible but i cant remember (ages since i used it) have a look on their website. Its in the options if you click on the taskbar icon.....somewhere
     
  17. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,879

    Thanks i will take a look.
     
  18. Mercutio

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Jun 2003

    Posts: 5,005

    Location: Sheffield, UK

    Remote asssistance in Messenger IS doable - it gives the added advantage of both parties being able to see whats going on (RDS logs off the current user, your friend will be sat looking at the login button you get after screen-saver kicks in). For the MSN to work you need to be on same version of MSN messenger (go get latest) and fairly easy from there.