1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Righty, new CPU

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by benjo, 4 May 2006.

  1. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,777

    Location: London

    Hello all

    I've just got myself a new ASRock 939Dual SATA2 motherboard, and all i need now is my CPU.

    I reckon i'll have about £140-£150, and i've pretty much narrowed it down to:

    AMD Opteron UP 146 San Diego 2.0GHz 1MB Cache (Socket 939) - Retail (CP-142-AM) £152

    Or...

    AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego 90nm (Socket 939) - OEM (CP-150-AM)
    and an Artic Cooler Pro.

    I'll hopefully be overclocking one of them, and i'm guessing the opty would overclock better.. but its more expensive and clocked lower already.

    I'll have to get the new bios for the motherboard aswell.

    As far as i know, they're both san diego.. so they should be the same performance once the opteron is clocked to 2.2?

    Anyway.. which will clock better, and whats the best for my cash?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Stelly

    Don

    Joined: 5 Oct 2005

    Posts: 11,015

    Location: Liverpool

    AMD Opteron UP 146 San Diego 2.0GHz 1MB Cache (Socket 939) - Retail (CP-142-AM)... gets my vote :)

    Stelly
     
  3. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,193

    Just recieved an OEM 3700 from here, not to impressed TBH, go for the Opty ;)
     
  4. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    In a Austrian accent :D

    "Why?"
     
  5. fenderbass86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,986

    Location: Chelmsford

    I'm having trouble deciding whether to get an X2 4400+ or an Opty 170. It will go with an MSI K8N Diamond motherboard, I hope to clock it to 2.6GHz, but I just can't decide which.
     
  6. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Nov 2004

    Posts: 28,386

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    Wouldnt mind a reply on the above also actually :p Oh and...if im not overclocking, which is also better? The opty 170 or X2 4400 :p
     
  7. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,777

    Location: London

    Thanks to the people that didnt change the topic :)
     
  8. Delvis

    Caporegime

    Joined: 7 Nov 2004

    Posts: 28,386

    Location: Buckinghamshire

    lol..sorry...

    But yeah, the Opteron (if your overclocking) Is more than likely better than the Opteron from what ive read on these forums, If you could stretch your budget to maybe the 148? I think theyre also very nice also from what ive heard.
     
  9. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    Go for a 146, as long as you have a decent board you have a chance of reaching the magic 3ghz, the 06 optys apparently all clock very well to. My 144 hits 2.8 with ease although my board wont let me near 3ghz.
     
  10. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,777

    Location: London

    Well the board i'm getting isnt the best at overclocking, but i'd still be able to make use out of a 146?

    I'll be ordering soon so i need a few more opinions/facts why the 146 is the way to go! :)

    Cheers
     
  11. stigggeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,895

    just keep in mind the opteron will have 10 multi and the 3700+ an 11 multi so if the board is pants at clocking you will be better opting for a 3700+ imo.

    and without going too much off topic i would got for an oem X2 3800 for £30 more ;)
     
  12. benjo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 12,777

    Location: London

    + a cooler on top of that, would be pushing it for cash :) I'll see what i have at the time
     
  13. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    What board are you getting?
     
  14. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    what bios do you have?
     
  15. Goody_GTI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,487

    Location: Nottingham

    Go for the opty 146 it will hopefully clock a lot better plus you have a lot more headroom due to the lower stock voltage it runs at - 1.25v compared to the 3700@1.4v i think? mainly would be a lot easier to get it to run stable
     
  16. stigggeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,895

    i think the problem is to get 2750 on the opti his board would need to do 275htt, with the 3700 he would only need 250 due to the multi, he has already said the board he is getting isnt very good clocker.
     
  17. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,676

    Location: Autonomy


    Get the 146

    Its a server chip and undergoes more stringent testing.Runs at lower voltage and overclocks well to.

    I have my opty running at 2.8ghz on 1.36v its dual core but my last opty 146 I played with did 2.8ghz on stock (CABYE 0540)

    Had good luck with both single and dual cores optys.

    Had a x2 3800 before and it needed 1.6v to be stable at 2.6ghz

    My 170 is the best chip I have ever owned.
     
    Last edited: 7 May 2006
  18. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Agreed, although a new bios may solve the op's clocking problems
     
  19. Vogon

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 4,193

    I would just add to easyriders sound reasoning, that there seems a fair chance of getting a 3700 thats a failed DC chip, as mine looks to be, and IMO thats a bodge job.
    Needless to say my 3700 is going into a pc were it can live @ stock, and I will be getting an opteron to replace it in due course ;)
     
  20. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Oct 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    I'm running the latest official bios, is there a better one for overclocking?