1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (AMD X370) 1800x to 3700x

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by ssmacc, 7 Apr 2020.

  1. ssmacc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Mar 2007

    Posts: 2,319

    Location: Macclesfield

    I’m thinking of building a PC form the parts left over from an upcoming upgrade and a few 2nd hand parts.

    I’ve got a ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (AMD X370) with a 1800x in it. My current thinking is to keep this board and the rest of the PC and simply drop a 3700x into it…

    I’ve picked up a cheap ROG STRIX B350-F and am planning on popping the 1800x into this and building a PC for someone else, my question is will I lose much performance with a 3700x in the X370 platform? Seems like a nice cheap upgrade to keep the PC relevant for a few more years?

    Any advice appreciated.
     
  2. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: 17 Mar 2012

    Posts: 35,531

    I'm running a 3600 in what was an £80 B350 Motherboard 3 years ago. i have run a bunch of benchmarks and the performance is exactly the same as those reviews running the 3600 in £300 X570 Motherboards, and its rock solid stable problem free....

    You will need to update the BIOS, make sure its Ryzen 3000 compatible i don't know how good Asus are or not for supporting older boards.
     
  3. ssmacc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Mar 2007

    Posts: 2,319

    Location: Macclesfield

    Cheers, that's good to know, on the latest BIOS so OK on that front...now will wait for a 2nd 3700x or similar (not in a hurry)
     
  4. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Feb 2003

    Posts: 3,593

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    I don't think for one min you will lose any performance by dropping a 3700x into a CH6. I ran a 1700 and then a 2700x in my CH6 and if you look at Humbug's CB R20 thread you will see my 2700x was always up near the top.
    The only reason i swapped to a CH8 was because i wasn't 100% convinced the CH6 would do a 3950x justice. It may well have done, but when dropping that amount of money on a cpu i decided to go for the best current mobo at the time. It paid off because my 3950x is top of the CB R20 scores, other than Arni off course, using LN2 :D
     
  5. doodah

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 22,847

    Location: London

    In a similar position though I think my CH6 might be on its way out, if not I would simply replace my 1700 with a 3700X. Pretty sure I have seen a chart* showing the CH6 is OK for all 3000 series with the only exception been the 3950X, which it said can handle it - just don't go expecting to do much with it.

    *not the official one, some user made one regarding stock and OC'ing.

    Edit - found it. I swear it was orange for the CH6/3950X before but either way, you're good for any Ryzen and no annoying chipset fan.
     
  6. EsaT

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Jun 2008

    Posts: 8,620

    Location: Finland

    Assuming heatsink is decent size and not completely sabotaged for airflow by plastic garbages that would be good board for it.
    Basically stock CPU's max current draw would stay in best efficiency area.
    And 3950X consumes same as 3900X at stock.
     
  7. pandem0nium

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Dec 2010

    Posts: 2,889

    Location: Solihull

    I've put a 3700X in a X370 strix fairly recently.

    CPU boosted as expected. i saw clocks of 4.4 during gaming using 1usmus power plan.
    Ram overclocks up to 3800mhz with fclk set to 1900 were possible. With a good set of b-die ram.

    I'd expect the C6H to be better because of the beefier VRM, and it has the latest 1004 bios available.
     
  8. Glanza

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Mar 2007

    Posts: 10,362

    Location: South Yorkshire

    Been running a 3600x in my crosshair vi since December after upgrading from a 1700, updated bios to latest version and all been good so far.
     
  9. Nutella33

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2011

    Posts: 2,974

    Went from a 1700x to 3700x two weeks ago in a CH6. perfectly fine. bios 7704 is the latest. I'm sat at 1800 IF/3600C14.
     
  10. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: 8 Nov 2007

    Posts: 13,140

    Location: Outer Space

    3600C14?
     
  11. Nutella33

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2011

    Posts: 2,974

    RAM is at CL 14/tRCD 15/tRP 14/tRAS 28/tRC 42 and 1T.
     
  12. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: 8 Nov 2007

    Posts: 13,140

    Location: Outer Space

    That's really good going :)
     
  13. Nutella33

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Feb 2011

    Posts: 2,974

    Thanks :) needs 1.45v but temps keep under 50c on memtest so far. It's all 4 sticks populated as well. I've been lucky with the CH6, even the earliest Ryzen 1 bios's could hold 3200mhz. Probably lucked out a bit with a good batch of Gskill C3200C14-8GTZR as well, on the 1700x I could keep 3466C14.

    It doesn't like 1900mhz IF though, So I decided to drop it to 1800 and just get as tight as possible.
     
  14. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: 8 Nov 2007

    Posts: 13,140

    Location: Outer Space

    I think you've won the illusive silicon lottery :cool:
     
  15. Fire_fly

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Jan 2012

    Posts: 3,749

    Location: Derbyshire

    I have been using a 3900x with a crosshair VI since last July. It took a couple of BIOS to resolve a couple of minor cold booting issues (something that also took a while for the 1700 beforehand too) it has been fine since.

    When transcoding bluerays the VRM temps stay under 60c although it does have airflow from the CPU cooler fans passing over it. That is with stock frequencies setting but there should be plenty of headroom there for OCing.
     
  16. tommoT.Striker

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Jun 2019

    Posts: 186

    I was running a 3900x in a Asus Strix x370 for nearly a year. No problems whatsoever. The cpu even allowed me to push my old Ram up to 3600 too.
    So with an even better motherboard can't see it having any issues with a 3700x.
     
  17. Phage

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jun 2009

    Posts: 1,675

    Location: Kent

  18. FredFlint

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,241

    I'm running a 3900X in a CROSSHAIR VI HERO, upgraded from a 1800X and had no real issues so far.
     
  19. voidshatter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Dec 2015

    Posts: 1,248

    I don't overclock so I can't even notice any difference >3% for my 3950X between X570 and B450.